Kavi Chokshi's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kavi’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Gujarati, Hindi; learning Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Chai Maker and Waste Rethinker
  • No education listed
  • From Bend, OR, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi there! My name is Kavi. I am originally from India but I grew up in a few different countries (Bahrain, Ghana, India), have lived in another (Sweden), and after 17 years in Delaware, have lived in beautiful Bend, Oregon for the last five. I love it here.

I'm currently working on starting my chai business: https://www.kavischai.com/

I enjoy meeting people, experiencing different cultures, and traveling, in that order.

I put a lot of value in being present and living each moment fully. I don’t put a lot of stock in labels, and my wide-ranging interests or perspectives, sometimes surprises people.

I am fully vaccinated and boosted, and in terms of hosting or surfing, would prefer to interact with those who are too. I currently live in a beautiful home in NE Bend with two roommates that I get along with wonderfully. They don’t have profiles on CS.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love connecting with people, and it’s one of my favorite things to do when traveling or in general.

Interests

I have a passion for new experiences which translates to many varied and ever expanding interests.

Here’s a list of my top ones right now:
Meditation
Hiking w/ my dog and being outside
Environmentalism/climate action/sustainability/positive change
Being kind and spreading love and happiness
Morel hunting (new, and hope to expand to foraging)
Trail running (new-ish over the last year, just signed up for a marathon on 11/5/22!)
Yoga
Strength Training
Indoor plants
Climbing (mostly indoor bouldering)
Chatting over good food and beer
Meeting new folks
Dance (this is out of my comfort zone, but just started learning Tango and West Coast Swing)
Movies

Would like to do more of:
Deepening current friendships
Cooking
Reading
Backpacking and camping

  • animals
  • dogs
  • design
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • minimalism
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • trail running
  • nature
  • people
  • adventures
  • new experiences
  • deep conversations
  • silence
  • consciousness
  • positive change
  • climate action

Music, Movies, and Books

This could be a long and varied list. I’ll list a few that I think have left the deepest impression on me:

Books:
Harry Potter
Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
The Power of Now
The Untethered Soul
The Spirit of Jem
Braiding Sweetgrass

Movies:
Everything Everywhere All At Once
Lady Bird
Brooklyn
Parasite
The Biggest Little Farm
Batman series (Batman Begins, Dark Knight)
Click
Many indie/well-made films
Most Marvel movies
Most Pixar movies

TV shows:
Game of Thrones
The Wire
The Good Place
Stranger Things
Breaking Bad
Ted Lasso
Friends, HIMYM, Seinfeld
Currently watching: Avatar: The Last Airbender

Music: top artists and genres change from time to time, but here’s a sprinkling:
Trevor Hall
Wookiefoot
Nahko and Medicine for the People
Macklemore
Jack Johnson
NF
Bon Iver
Jose Gonzalez
Citizen Cope
Rising Appalachia
Regina Spektor
The Roots
Joshua Radin
The Fray
Jay Z
Linkin Park
I love love love finding new music, so if you can introduce me to an artist or song that resonates with me, I’d forever associate it with you.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Moved to Morocco without any plans and found my dog there.

Completed Vipassana, twice now.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can share a delicious cup of homemade chai, and if you’re interested, teach you as well.

I enjoy learning about different cultures and ways of looking at life.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My presence and positive energy
My story and how I seem to have “found” peace
Meditating together
I also make a pretty delicious cup of chai (traditional Indian tea), can bring the ingredients, and can show you how to as well!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Grenada, Morocco

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bahrain, Ghana, India, Sweden, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kavi’s full profile.

My Groups