Kaylin Stephens

Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

Not Accepting Guests

  • 92% response rate
  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kaylin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning French, Korean, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • english teacher
  • BA Anthropology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I hate to be rude, but this is getting out of control. MEN-- STOP SENDING ME REQUESTS. 2+ people traveling together-- STOP SENDING ME REQUESTS. IF YOU READ MY PROFILE YOU WOULD KNOW I AM NOT COMFORTABLE HOSTING MEN AND DO NOT HAVE ROOM FOR MULTIPLE PEOPLE. BOTH REASONS ARE BECAUSE MY PLACE IS VERY SMALL AND HAS LITTLE PRIVACY. I get a request from one of these 2 types of people at least once a week if not more and it is getting really annoying.

Ok, sorry for the rant. If you got through that and fall into the realm I can host (girls traveling solo, much like myself) , please read on! I will be happy to host you if I am not already hosting or traveling or extremely busy then.

I am a 26 year old female from Alabama, USA.
I have previously taught English in South Korea (lived in Busan, traveled to Seoul/Ulsan/Daegu/DMZ), France (lived in Dieppe, traveled to Paris/Strasbourg/Caen/Rouen/Bayeux), and currently am teaching in Hong Kong. I have also been an au pair in New Zealand (middle of North Island, traveled to Taupo/Auckland/Rotorua/Wellington). Additionally, I have traveled to England (London/Kent/Manchester/Salisbury), Scotland (Isle of Skye/Highlands/Edinburgh), Wales (Cardiff), Italy (Florence/Pisa/Rome/Naples/Pompeii), Germany (Berlin/Munich), Netherlands (Amsterdam), Japan (Tokyo), Thailand (Bangkok), Cambodia (Phnom Penh/Sihanoukville/Siem Reap), Australia (Brisbane/Sydney), Fiji (Nadi/Suva/Lau islands), Macau, and Canada (Toronto).

My bachelor's is in Anthropology, (war eagle!) but I would one day like to go to graduate school for International Relations/Development.

Basically, I try to live my life to the fullest and I believe that everyone should be able to do basically whatever they want as long as it doesn't hurt anyone else.

I'm pro-choice, anti-organized religion, and LGBT friendly. I also support healthcare for all.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To get to know new local people in the places I visit and to welcome visitors in the places I live in


reading, drawing, traveling of course, music, art, cute tiny things (I have a collection), hanging out with my friends, dancing

Music, Movies, and Books

I love fantasy and sci-fi, doesn't matter if books/movies/tv shows. I will probably watch/read it.

Books: Harry Potter (been a fan since I was 12), any sort of travel books, Shakespeare, Edgar Allen Poe, the Hunger Games trilogy, A Song of Ice and Fire series, Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, just started reading the Outlander series, Zombie Survival Guide

Movies: The Breakfast Club, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings trilogy, Terminator and T2, Ghostbusters, 28 Days Later, Zombieland, Shaun of the Dead, Marvel Cinematic Universe (Thor, Captain America, Avengers, Guardians of the Galaxy, etc).

TV: Doctor Who, Supernatural, Firefly, Buffy, Gotham, Sleepy Hollow, Game of Thrones, The Strain, and my absolute favorite right now is The Walking Dead.

Music: Almost anything! I'm very open-minded and there's little I won't at least try out and give a listen to. I do have a soft spot for 90s pop music!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Too many to name just one!!

Angkor complex in Cambodia. SO. FREAKING. COOL. I felt very Lara Croft exploring all the temples.

Climbing the stairs at the Eiffel Tower. 30 stories! My friend Marie and I were champs that day!

Going to the border between North and South Korea (the DMZ) and seeing the North Korean soldiers staring at us from across the line.

Visiting Pompeii and standing in the shadow of Mt Vesuvius in Italy. It has been a dream of mine since I first learned about it in history class years and years ago and I finally made it a reality in 2013.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to do some swing dance, salsa and merengue moves. I'd love if you taught me some words if your native language is something other than English.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My witty personality and where to find the best Mexican food in HK. Also all the useless trivia knowledge floating around in my head that will one day make me a Jeopardy champion (I'm convinced I'll be on that show one day).

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, Canada, Fiji, Germany, Italy, Japan, Macao, Netherlands, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Hong Kong, New Zealand, South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kaylin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups