Roger Conway's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Roger’s full profile.

Overview

  • 28 references 12 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • No occupation listed
  • History degree at University.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello!

I'm a 31 year old Englishman pretending i'm not 31. I'm about to embark on a big trip (July 2018) starting in the Ukraine/Moldova, followed by Central America and eventually hopefully West Africa. Previously i've travelled in East Africa, South American, India, the Caucaus, South East Asia and the Balkans.

I'm really into the outdoors and exercise: whenever I travel I take my running shoes with me and check out the local gyms. I've always been a fan of climbing mountains, treks, and exploring local culture as much as possible. I studied history at university years ago and work in Finance now, and when i'm in the UK i spend a lot of time watching documentaries about foreign countries. All of these things combine to meaning that I love to chat with people about their country, and to learn more. I really want to know as much as I can about the countries I travel in, not just to take photos of food on instagram etc. I speak Spanish currently but would love to learn more languages!

Normally I look for people to hang out with on couchsurfing: I don't need a tour guide as i've done lots of independent travel before, but always willing to take suggestions off people also! I usually travel on a budget and have don't take taxis etc, i'm not a fussy person: happy sleeping anywhere really.

I'm always travelling with my tent and sleeping bag so if anyone fancies a camping adventure let me know!

Something new I want to learn is to cook a dish from each country I travel in while i'm there: I do enjoy cooking and think this would be a great thing to reflect on in old age. I can also teach you a dish or two if I can find the right condiments!

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that you should always push yourself and be willing to try new things even if you don't feel comfortable at first. Always put yourself in another person's shoes and try and think from other people's perspectives: treat people as you would like to be treated.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I always travel alone and I love to meet new people to give me an insight into their world.

Interests

History, Politics, Running, Trekking, Gym, Documentaries, Books, Cooking

Music, Movies, and Books

I like pretty much all of the Russian classics, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, White Tiger, Things Fall Apart.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climb two 6,000 metre mountains.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, China, India, Indonesia, Kyrgyzstan, Nepal, Peru, Philippines, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Roger’s full profile.

My Groups