Kelly Kaufman's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelly’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Bartender & Researcher
  • University of South Dakota
  • From Okoboji, IA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I love meeting people from other nations; I've lived with guys from Spain, Mexico, Canada, Germany, and currently a Phd chemistry student from Nepal. Learning so many different cultures has been an eye-opening experience for me, and working at an upscale bar has put me in touch with all kinds of people as well. I talk, and talk, and talk. So if you have working ears you'll probably be using them, but I also want to hear everything about other people. Currently working some part time things and planning the next "big move," whatever that'll be I won't let it be dull.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I first heard about Couchsurfing through a Couchsurfer; this summer a Scottish man in his late twenties stopped by the bar I work and we talked about an hour, him telling me how awesome this service is for traveling another world. So, in preparation for my European adventure I decided to sign up and see what could be done to utilize such an awesome program. When I return to the states I really hope to be able to host some people on their own adventures through life.

Interests

My hobbies/interests/passions are far reaching: film (world cinema especially), reading, researching scientific breakthroughs, listening to history & political podcasts, cycling, hunting/fishing, sports (this year I've played racquetball as much as I can), exploring, the occasional video game, and many other things. Just talking with new people I've always been great at, I think it's my strongest trait for bartending but I can still make a decent drink!

  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • podcasts
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hunting
  • sports
  • racquetball
  • biology
  • chemistry
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: almost everything in the world (besides country). Some of my favorite artists are: Led Zepplin, Violent Femmes, The Beatles, John Fahey, Wu-Tang Clan, White Stripes, Waldeck, TV on the Radio, Thelonious Monk, Duke Ellington, Sublime, Dispatch, R.L. Burnside, Chili Peppers, Radiohead, and I'll stop the list with that.
Movies: Being my driving passion for entertainment this list could go for ever, but a few of my all time favorite directors are: Cohen brothers, Paul Thomas Anderson, Stanley Kubrick, Martin Scorsese, Akira Kurosawa, Park Chan-Wook, Michael Haneke, Werner Herzog, Jean-Pierre Jeunet. Again, this list can go on.
Books: Moby Dick, Blood Meridian, Frankenstein, Gravity's Rainbow, Aliens in the Prime of Their Lives, all Joseph Conrad, Oliver Sacks novels, Short Nights of the Shadow-Catcher.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It's called RAGBRAI: Registered Annual Great Bike Ride Across Iowa. This week long cycling journey is the largest non-competitive biking tour in America, an average day will see 30,000 cyclists all joining in the miracle it really is. I've done this tour in its entirety three times, two of those times were hauling my own trailer with all my gear. An absolutely exhausting experience, but one that will never be forgotten or despised by anyone who's done it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a Medical Biology major with a double minor in English and Chemistry. Member of the National History Society. I have developed a huge appreciation of the Spanish language since high school and hope to continue growing in my fluency.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Unique perspective on life, politics, economy, basically anything that can be talked about I'll talk about. If time allows I can be a tour guide for the area. I know how to make a few tasty dishes, but better yet I know where to find cheap, delicious food in town.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, France, Germany, Hungary, Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelly’s full profile. It’s free!