Kelly's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelly’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Marketing/Business Development
  • University of Alabama
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! My name is Kelly. I was born and raised in Alaska, which has given me a very unique perspective on a lot of things. I love exploring new places, cultures, and especially cuisines. I haven't been able to travel as much as I would like, so I plan on making up for missed opportunities!

I have lived in Alaska, Hawaii, Utah, Florida, Alabama, Texas, and California. Each has their charms. I hope to live abroad for a year somewhere, I'm thinking either Indonesia, Vietnam, or Thailand.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love to meet new people and to hear fascinating stories. I don't regularly get the opportunity to meet people from other countries so it would be great to connect, share good times, and maybe make a friend that I can call upon if I ever visit their home turf :) I heard of Couchsurfing some time ago and the idea has always intrigued me; I'm excited to start surfing and hosting!

I believe that every person you meet has the ability to teach you something, a new perspective, language, sport, hobby, etc. You just have to take the time to delve into the wealth of knowledge that each new person brings.

Interests

Volleyball, Tennis, Snowboarding, Skiing, Boating, Jet-skiing, Kayaking, Scuba. Trying new restaurants or seeing the latest movie. I can become absorbed in a magazine from time to time. Also always up for a concert or festival of any kind. I have a love of food trucks/street food.

There's so many things I want to try/learn...surfing, geocaching, sailing, kite/wind surfing, play an instrument.

  • culture
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • dining
  • food trucks
  • boating
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • hunting
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • tennis
  • volleyball

Music, Movies, and Books

Book: The Secret

Music: Almost anything goes. I mostly find myself listening to Imagine Dragons, Arctic Monkeys, Ella Mai, Elle King...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My first trip to Europe and also my first solo adventure! Spent 5 weeks touring 7 countries across 2 continents, all while not knowing any foreign languages. It was definitely a learning experience!

Scuba diving in the Caymans, seeing Mayan ruins in Cozumel, seeing Capuchin Monkeys and the Panama Canal in Panama

Hiking on glaciers back home in Alaska

Teach, Learn, Share

This is one of the best parts about Couchsurfing. I feel like the spirit of a place lies within it's people. So, if I host someone from Brazil, I will probably get a pretty good grasp on what that culture has to offer. I love getting the perspective of a local, there's no better way to travel. I hope to teach just as much as I learn, and in turn share my experiences with others.

Travel and adventure are life enriching experiences unlike any other, but you don't always have to leave your city to do it; get lost in the stories of someone you meet in a cafe or watch foreign films to broaden your views of a certain culture, treat every day like an adventure!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have a wealth of knowledge about Alaska that would come in handy if you plan on making a trip! Also just share stories, laughs, and maybe some Mojitos.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, Cayman Islands, England, France, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Panama, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kelly’s full profile.

My Groups