Kevin Gomis

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Vietnamese; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 31, Other
  • Member since 2010
  • Professional travellers for the next 12 months. After tha...
  • University Graduates (Him: B. Business, Her: B. Commerce).
  • From Him: Born - Neu Ulm, Raised - Sydney. Her: Born and Raised - Syd
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To get back on the road again...


We are two 26 year olds from Australia who have ditched our boring office jobs in search of inspiration for what we go on to do with the rest of our lives. We're hoping that 12 months in Europe will help us to find passion for a new place to live, study, work, make new friends and hopefully more. Or at least, we'll have a bit of an adventure trying to do so. UPDATE: We have made it home now and still trying to settle in - although already dreaming of the next trip...

Kevin is half German, half Malaysian and grew up in Sydney. He has started a collection of vinyl records across a variety of genres, as well as a library of books focussed on politics, economics, food and music. He is a vegetarian, a terrible smart-ass, and will gladly cook you an eggplant parmigiana on the slightest request. He is also not that bad to look at, although his current attempts to grow a beard are anything but spectacular. Current aspirations are to complete further study, likely in development economics, and see what he can contribute to making the planet slightly more hospitable.

Ann was born and raised in Sydney, but of Vietnamese descent. She also has a keen interest in music and has enjoyed her fair share of music and arts festivals. Ann loves being creative in the kitchen and her current aspiration is to pursue a career in this area by opening her own cafe/rest. I think she is very nice to look at, esp. in the mornings when she tends to be grumpy.


Never judge, hesitate, regret, or say no to a new experience, friend or idea.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


We enjoyed surfing and attending events whilst in Europe. We hope to get to know the CS community in Syd in the coming year and help out any travellers passing through however we can.


Our very first CS experience was meeting our host, a German diplomat wearing nothing but a towel, after dragging our luggage up 10 flights of stairs. It was awesome and is only getting better!


New Friends, Food (Vegetarian), Music, Places and Perspectives.

Music, Movies, and Books

Last album you listened to for the nth time -
Him: Broken Social Scene, Forgiveness Rock Record & Her: Black Keys, Brother.
Last movie you watched for the nth time -
Him: The Other Guys & Her: Get Him to the Greek.
Currently Reading -
Him: The Emperor & Her: Following in the steps of Mr Kutz.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done


Quit work and bought a one way ticket to Europe with no money or plans for the future. Hopefully it works out amazing.

Also completed the 100km OXfam Trailwalker Challenge (a 100km trailwalk in approx. 30 hours, raising $6k+ for Oxfam).


Followed the above fool.

Also walked under water in Mexico. Think of an upside down Jesus, but more impressive (I could breathe down there).

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach - Our favourite Vegetarian recipes.
Learn - Him: How to play the Harmonica & Her: To speak Deutsch.
Share - Anything we have to offer.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups