Kevin Gough's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 35 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Irish, Spanish; learning French, Russian
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • Financial Mathematics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Get to 100 countries visited in the next 2 years :)

ABOUT ME

I've been traveling the world since may 2009, and loved every bit of it! I studied financial mathematics in university, and have been financing my travels from online gambling in the last 9 or so years.

I'm a very open minded backpacker - I enjoy short hikes but as I have a bit of a passion for photography I need an amazing viewpoint or 2 to make it feel worthwhile :)
I live up to the Irish reputation of loving a few drinks and going out partying - much more of a bar person than loud nightclubs though!

I love sports, I€™m a soccer goalkeeper and used to play our 2 unique Irish sports called Gaelic football (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TEAbWrdB9XU) and hurling (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgEMvRrOCRI) although its impossible to find people to play it with when I'm traveling! I'€™ll probably know a thing or two about your local sports team seeing as I bet on pretty much all sports apart from athletics, handball and baseball.

I use lots of Irish slang which I try to tone down when traveling but of course some still slips out so you might become fluent in Irish slang after meeting me!

I am very open minded and really like speaking with people who have different interests to me as I am intrigued as to the reasons people like different activities to me and why I don'€™t have similar views.

Even if you don't need a bed or don€™t have one to offer, you can message me asking for advice to where to party / stay when you are traveling, my list of places visited on my profile is pretty extensive so if you plan on visiting any of these places and are in the dark over anything just ask!

PHILOSOPHY

Live and learn

Interests

Travelling, playing and watching sport, having a good chat (or natter as we call it at home), meeting new interesting people and ideas, having a few drinks and partying, photography and hiking

Music, Movies, and Books

I am very passionate about my music, especially electronic/house (unless I'€™m nursing a hangover) and I am one of the people that can'€™t go for a 5 minute walk alone without having tunes with me.

Movie wise I actually only properly started watching flicks in the last year or 2, in college I tried to limit my TV time to little to none as I was trying to combine my lifestyle of playing football with the college team and partying lots to being a proper nerd as well! So luckily I still have a lot of great movies ahead of me.

Actor wise Leonardo Di Caprio is my favourite by a long shot, have only ever seen one flick that he'€™s in that didn'€™t blow me away (this boy’s life), a bit of a hidden gem of his is the basketball diaries, highly recommended although very emotional film.

Instead of going through the usual movies that everyone likes I'€™ll recommend a few that most people will not have seen, Irish movies about war in the early 20th centuary, the wind that shakes the barley and in the name of the father being the two best.
I hate scary movies, I watch movies to enjoy myself and not to sit in fear for 2 hours!

My main genre would be "realistic" science fiction - the best recent hidden gem I watched is i-origins.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Represented my country in fans soccer games and tournaments
4 bungee jumps and a skydive

Teach, Learn, Share

visited 74 states

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Bahamas, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Curaçao, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, England, Estonia, France, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Laos, Latvia, Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, U.S., Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile.

My Groups