Kevin Burt's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile.

Overview

  • 33 references 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student
  • Graduated Engineering at UWaterloo
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

COVID EXCEPTION

I would love to host right now but I've discussed it with my roommates and we've all agreed that this isn't the best time to allow strangers who are traveling into an enclosed space with us. I hope you soon be able to let people in. If you're fully vaccinated I might be able to make an exception otherwise let's just wait a little bit longer before I can offer a couch or bedroom. HOWEVER, I can hangout outdoors and love camping. So if you need a place to stay I can offer my backyard and even some camping gear. I won't leave you without a place to stay.

CURRENT MISSION

I just moved to Vancouver so I'm currently interested in exploring all the fascinating parts of BC. It's a beautiful place and I'm loving every day that I'm here.

ABOUT ME

To start, I graduated from an engineering program at the University of Waterloo back in 2016. After living in the same city for 12 years I decided I needed to move so I could keep exploring this wonderful world. I'm not located in Vancouver, BC.

I enjoy staying active and playing sports which is why everyday I'm on my bike and any chance I get I'll be out hiking, tossing around a frisbee, or letting active somehow. Hitting up some scenic trails or rough terrain is always a blast. I am not much for watching sports on TV but I will play just about any of them. Would be interested in going out for a bike ride, long hike, camping trip, or an activity on the water.

I enjoy cold beer on a hot day and the occasional joint. I know how to have fun and surround myself with good company. Very outgoing and eager to try new things. Hit me up for a good time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couch surfed a few times now and hosted once. I've always had good experiences and met some wonderful people. Couchsurfing is more than a safe and cheap way to travel, but a way to connect with locals whom you can either share an experience with or gather knowledge from.

Interests

My biggest passion is cycling. I will do any style; mountain, road, commuting, bikepacking, touring, etc. And I sure know how to tune up a bike so if yours needs work let me know! I'm very outdoorsy so most days you'll find me in the saddle, on the trail, in a park, or planning my next adventure. Solo adventures are great but adventures are meant to be shared. So I'm always looking for cool people to hear outside with and into the wilderness.

  • board games
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • mountain biking
  • biking
  • craft beer
  • ultimate frisbee
  • healthy eating
  • bike touring
  • road biking
  • obstacle course racing
  • bike camping

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

There's a lot of cool things that I've done including:

Racing a quarter-million-dollar solar car 3000km across the entire continent of Australia in a 6-day international race.

Train car hopping for 10km.

Climbed a few buildings and cranes more than 20 stories tall.

On several occasions, I have taken off on 3-4 day bike packing trips where I leave with my bike and my gear and just camp out wherever.

Did a 24-hour long mountain bike race. I have competed three times now.

I visited my best friend (met on Couchsurfing) in Peru so we could hike to Machu Pichu together.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach a person a few things about living in the wilderness. I've been on multi-day excursions without a working phone. That means using the sun to both tell time and direction. I can teach you how to source water and food, what might be good to eat and not, and how to stealth camp.

5+ years working in a bike shop. You love your bike but don't know what's wrong with it? Let me have a look. 🚴

I'm an engineer so I actually understand math, physics, chemistry, biology, and programming really well. Basically how the world works on a physical level. 😆 It's amazing seeing things in action and understanding the depths of complexity involved allowing me to appreciate things in full. The world is a very complex space though so there's always going to remain a sense of wonder on some topics.

I've picked up many skills over the years and can teach things on a variety of topics. I'll be able to regale you of tales from my adventures and teach you from my experiences.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can offer hosts my stories and a willing partner for a fun adventure. I'm okay with not hanging out and giving you space but would love to do something fun and adventurous. I can cook and clean for my host as well as pick up some beer for a casual evening.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, Peru

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin’s full profile.

My Groups