Logo orange

Kevin Francis

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 25 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 41 Positive References1 Neutral
  • No languages listed
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Event Security for Rogers Arena & BC...
  • Bachelor of Science Major: Kinesiologiy
  • From Calgary, AB Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

After years of travels, I've landed back and ready to live the life in this beautiful country we call Canada

ABOUT ME

I am 31 years old, grew up in Calgary, Alberta Canada and relocated to Vancouver, British Columbia 2 years ago and very proud to call it my new home. Since I was 15 years old, my dream has been to travel the world and experience all the amazing things our planet has to offer. In December 2006, I passed a huge milestone in my life and graduated university and earned a degree in BSc Kinesiology. The summer before I was about to graduate, I made a life changing commitment to myself that my next focus was to spend 3-5 years of my life traveling the world. After graduating university, I was able to save up enough money in 9 months that I was able to break free and begin my world adventures. On my first trip away, I spent 9 months backpacking in New Zealand, Australia, and SE Asia. I fell in love with our world almost instantly and wasn't ready to stop so I ended up getting a job teaching English as an ALT in Japan for almost 1 year. After teaching, I returned home to work in Canada for the summer. In September 2009, I left home for round 2 of my travels and spent the next 7 months travelling through Europe, Nepal, India, Sri Lanka, Burma, and Thailand. After this trip, I returned back home to Canada to worked another summer and save more money. The longer I was away travelling, the urge to exercise the travel bug kept growing stronger and stronger! So in Jan 2011, I flew to Africa and began a long overland journey from the South tip of Africa in Cape town, SA and spent the next 9 1/2 months travelling through 14 countries and volunteering along the way until I reached my final destination of Cairo, Egypt. The 3 years of travel/living abroad through 35 countries was nothing shy of life changing and incredible.

My hope is that my travels will inspire others to do similar things, travel, and challenge themselves by wandering to the furthest ends of the earth that they can possibly go. it is an experience in life that only a minuscule of the worlds population will ever get the chance to do, but if life gives you the opportunity, my only word of advice would be to: Go For It!! It will not only change your life forever but will also change the lives of all those who you come in contact with. One of the most important things I took from all my travels, is that it certainly will put life into perspective, especially when you finally return back home.

PHILOSOPHY

My main philosophy is to live your life like its the last day on earth. To make good decisions and choices that you won't regret when your time is up and look back and hate what you did. I want to finish my life and be 110% satisfied with who i am and who i've become and not regret anything. I strongly believe everything happens for a reason and you must take advantage of opportunties that arise in your life as most of them will bring great happiness and help mould you into a better person like they have for me with travelling.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am currently sharing a 6 bedroom house. I am open to host travellers here and have a comfy couch or blow up mattress and in our cozy family room space to offer you during your stay. As long as time permits, I'd be happy to show my fellow travellers/backpackers around this beautiful city.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have couch surfed several times and have had a wonderful experience in all the places I stayed and intend on having more like it in the future. I usually stay at hostels because I really enjoy the atmosphere there so I dont usually mind dishing out the extra cash to stay in a dorm if it need be.

Interests

Every sport ever invented and this is my university major in health, wellness, and body in sport. I also enjoy travelling and meeting people from all over the world

Music, Movies & Books

don't really read too often, maybe read 4 books in my life! lol, i love action and sports movies and pretty much have a taste for all types and genres of music! always open for something new!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

➢ Trekked the 65 km Kepler track in New Zealand in under 2 1/2 days.
➢ Dived the incredible Island of Sipadan in Borneo
➢ Youngest Victim Services Crisis Support Worker ever hired and trained in history of Victim Services with the Lethbridge Regional Police Service.
➢ 5-year recognition service award, Garden Market IGA.
➢ Established my own Non-Profit Society: “Volunteers Without Borders Association”.
➢ Backpacked across N. Zealand, Australia, S.E Asia, S. Asia, Europe and Africa (35 countries).
➢ Located, prevented and helped rescue an African women from setting herself on fire in a garage in Cape Town, South Africa.
➢ Climbed to the summit of Mount Kilimanjaro (5,895 M), in Tanzania.
➢ Climbed to the summit of Mount Kinabalu (4,095 M), in Malaysia.
➢ Trekked up to Everest Base Camp (5,364 M), and surrounding area for 16 days in Nepal.
➢ Bungy jumped off the 3rd highest platform in Victoria Falls, Zambia.
➢ Sky dived from 12,000 ft over the Southern Alps in New Zealand.
➢ Completed the West Coast Trail in 6 days on Vancouver Island.
➢ Open Water/Advanced Certified Diver with 45+ logged dives.
➢ Dived the S.S Yongala shipwreck twice in Australia.
➢ Dived the Thistlegorm shipwreck twice in Egypt.
➢ White Water Rafting along the Nile River in Uganda.
➢ Cage dived with Great White Sharks in South Africa.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am planning to get into a career in Law Enforcement here in Vancouver. If I am good at teaching something to others its probably anything to do with sports... not sure if this tweaks anyones interest! lol

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Botswana, Burundi, Cambodia, China, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Ethiopia, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Laos, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Mexico, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Rwanda, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Zimbabwe

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Japan, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kevin's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile