Korinna S's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 19 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Korinna’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 41 References 30 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Kinyarwanda, Urdu
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Student
  • Environmental Engineering & Sciences
  • From Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find the meaning of life. Find peace.

ABOUT ME

I'm an open-minded, non-materialistic, eco-oriented person, interested in diverse ideas and cultures, always up to try out something new :)

I love to spend my days on the road spontaneously (and thereby breaking out of my comfort zone?). The most I enjoy while wandering are the beauty and the calmness of nature. Most of the times I feel restless and those are the times I feel like taking it all in, sit down and breathe deeply.

The more I settle in Stuttgart, the more I get interested in its subculture and the many beautiful projects people came up with (Kulturinsel, Stadtacker, El Palito, etc.).

I like to be surrounded by plants, be it in the mountains, in a botanical garden or in my apartment. 🌿 I can never have enough plants :)

I'm fond of Pakistani food and tea. I could always go for sushi. In the evenings I like to enjoy a Baileys on the rocks..
Yet those three are exceptions, because more than that I'm interested in vegan and raw food, although I am not strictly against eating meat or fish (I eat very, very less of it).
I am currently reading lots about healthy diets... Thus I concentrate on a whole-food and plant-based diet, eliminating processed food and refined sugar (preferably sweetening with dates). I strongly believe in the benefits of organic food, to our bodies as well as to the environment.

I like adventurous and spontaneous travels in which I can get to know the locals. Some stories and experiences I share on my website. Feel free to have a look: 📝 https://www.exploreronabudget.com/ or www.instagram.com/exploreronabudget/

PHILOSOPHY

Everything happens for a reason.

I don't believe in stereotypes and the division of people in countries. Everybody is unique with his/her special interests and own believes.

I would like to see a world where people have more time for social contacts and more time to follow their dreams and hobbies. Wealth should not be the main achievement of life.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I got inspired by Tomislav Perko's book "A thousand days of Spring" where he talks about his adventures while hitchhiking and couchsurfing, and it's time to experience my own ones now.
Once I stayed at a couchsurfer in the US who was living in his self-built wooden cabin in the middle of the woods, producing almost no carbon foodprint. It was incredible to see how he is spending his days and I wished I could have stayed some time longer. From this day on, more than ever, I believe that every place you go, you should go for some longer period of time to really get to know each other. There are so many things hidden at first sight and so many people out there we can learn from. I truly wish to find inspiration and soul mates here.

I'M NOT ON THIS PLATFORM FOR DATING!!

Couchsurfing is a platform for cultural exchange that is based on a non-material gift economy (giving and taking). I appreciate this form of exchange and believe it to strengthen social relationships. For that reason: PLEASE REFRAIN FROM SENDING ME OFFERS FOR GUIDED TOURS.

Interests

Travelling, Nature, Photography, Architecture, Art, Henna/Mehendi, Hiking, Climbing, Baking, Cooking together, Green Smoothies, Organic food, Plantbased, Leaving No Carbon Footprint, Downshifting, Sustainability, Sustainable development and development issues, Multiculturalism

I ask myself questions like 'Why is the gap between rich and poor countries getting bigger and bigger?' and what can be done against it. I try to read some literature about if when I find time or watch some talks.

I'm reading a lot about zero-waste at the moment and try to adjust my lifestyle accordingly. Some things work out better than others...
I could imagine to live in a community for some time.

  • arts
  • architecture
  • photography
  • baking
  • raw food
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • organic food
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • dumpster diving
  • minimalism
  • hiking
  • hitchhiking
  • solo travel
  • plants
  • multiculturalism
  • international food
  • urban gardening
  • zero waste
  • subcultures

Music, Movies, and Books

*Books: The Hunger Games, A thousand days of Spring, Vivre sans argent ("living without money")
*Movies/Videos: The Lord of the Rings (because of the scenery!), Lucky Number Slevin (because of the twist in the tail), TEDTalks (so inspiring!), Forks Over Knifes (because of its shocking simple truth)
*Music: Angus And Julia Stone, IRON & WINE, Passenger, Milky Chance, Explosions in the Sky, Florence + the Machine

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I jumped in a 4 °C cold lake and swam 120 meters to the other shore.

I cycled along the East Coast in Taiwan. I think I found my preferred way of travelling there, not too fast, not too slow. You should try it :)

I climbed Mount Shirkouh in Iran (4075m) without any training, spent the night in a shelter at -20ºC and climbed back down in a snow storm.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a friend of error fares and quite good in finding the cheapest way of transportation (bus, carpooling, flight). So at least when you plan to travel around Germany and neighbour countries, I might be able to give you some tips or spot something for you :) Moreover, I can tell you about my experiences with hitchhiking.

I want to learn about edible wild herbs and local vegetables/plants that are not so known but can very well be eaten and easily be found. Moreover I would like to know what are the tricks when dumpster diving. I want to learn how to meditate.

In general, I like to learn all various kinds of stuff and get enlightened.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Vegan chocolate brownies, French Clafoutis or other cakes.
Homemade Pina Colada with Malibu.

I can give a basic men’s haircut (a bit like turkish style), which I have given to my boyfriend since two and a half years now... For that I need a hairtrimmer, a preferably fine-toothed comb and scissors (any kind). I can also just readjust the hair at the sides, for that I just need scissors and a comb.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, England, France, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Italy, Kosovo, Laos, Luxembourg, Macao, Malaysia, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Rwanda, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Korinna’s full profile. It’s free!