Logo orange

Malika Sellami

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Malika's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 301 Positive References8 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • Singer, Songwriter, Free Spirit (to ...
  • The thousands of KM hitchhiked all o...
  • From Quebec City, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Barefoot, Smiling.

ABOUT ME

Emotional, Creative, Excessive, Spontaneous, Curious, I am a free spirit, a new soul, a nomadic traveler, a gypsy folk musician who needs to connect with the Earth and its people. I left Quebec City in July 2006, after quitting my teaching job, giving up my dog and selling all my belongings. I traveled and lived abroad for 2 and a half years. Then I found Saskatoon, in the middle of the Canadian Prairies, where the sense of community is strong and where the land of living skies and its people are powerful, where I connected with myself and found what I was put on Earth for, where I felt happy and grounded more than ever. After settling down for 1 year, discovering song writing and singing to a higher level and making a mini album (Manifest some Love), I toured a little of our big canadian country for 3 weeks with other Prairie musicians. In August 2009, I decided to leave Canada and explore the Western American States and Baja California, Mexico for 8 months. Then last year, it was South America for 5 months to learn Spanish and get ready to record another music project. Touring here and there and now back in Saskatoon for the year, I am currently sub-teaching in the french immersion schools and preparing to release my second album in March 2012! Playing music everywhere in town with my band and organizing my music career and future tours in the Spring... I am fairly busy but i still want to host when i can!

PHILOSOPHY

Be true to myself and to others, live with the least expectations as possible, be happy with what I have and who I am, enjoy the journey, not the destination and try to respect all those personal philosophies everyday of my life...

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have been a member of CS since April 20th 2006 and only a couple of profiles were deleted in the big crash, unfortunately so was mine, even though I was an active member! I have been a Nomadic Ambassador for more than 2 years now. I love greeting new members and help them start their couchsurfing adventure! I also quite enjoy meeting members and organizing gatherings and making CS more active in the cities or towns I pass by or live in. I love to surf couches, share travel stories and host in my RV or when I have a house and meet or tour those crazy couchsurfers all over the world! What's your story???

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Loads, there are so many! Check out my profile! :)
Instead of listing all those amazing couchsurfing experiences I had, here is a list of the Crazy places I slept in...

*A petrol station in Kars, Turkey...
*The jungle in Chiapas, Mexico...
*A camping site with no tent, few feet from the highway with mosquitoes and rats as night companions in Valencia, Spain...
*A gliding club with a huge rat as night companion for several weeks in Dhekelia, Cyprus...
*A squat with 10 dogs in Grenoble, France...
*A tv production office in Mumbai, India...
*The middle of Black Rock City Desert, Nevada, with dust storms and intense sharing community (Burning Man) for over 50 days so far (5 years in a row)!
* In an RV, around Baja California, the west coast of USA and Canada...
*In the a lemon delivery truck's passenger sit in a truck stop in northern Argentina...

Interests

Performing, smiling, meeting unforgettable people and having unforgettable conversations, being in love, the ocean, surfing, yoga, meditation, music, Saskatoon, beaches, water, the smells of nature, monkeys, trees, monkey trees, laughing, learning, dreaming, crying, walking, camping, improvisation, creation, self expression, spontaneity, hitch hiking, mountain climbing, exploring, traveling...

Check out my music if you want to have a sneak peek of what I am playing...:and if you feel like you wanna encourage a traveling musician, here it is:

http://www.malikasellami.com

Music, Movies & Books

Music:
Dumas, Xavier Rudd, Joni Mitchell, Bowerbirds, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Hot Chip, Radiohead, Beck, Ariane Moffat, Ben Harper, Tonolec, Lisandro Aristimuno, Jack Johnson, Newton Faulkner, Lila Downs, Gotan Project, Salmonela Dub, Gorillaz, Mother Mother, Hey Rosetta!, Bjork, Jean Leloup, Portishead, Metric, Dispatch, The Avett Brothers, The Postal Service, Red Hot Chili Peppers, La Zurda, Dobacaracol, Tryo, Bob Marley, David Bowie, Johnny Cash and many more...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

*Been to Burning Man, Black Rock City, Nevada, U.S.A. and survived the dust storms... 7 years in a row!
*Hitchhiked more than 75 000 km in many different countries!
*Swam in a lake infested by crocodiles in Udaipur, Rajasthan, India.
*Volunteered in a AIDS center in Puna, India.
*Admired the immensity of the wonderful Canadian Prairies and smiled, naively...
*Volunteered in an orphanage in Riosuccio, Colombia, teaching theatre to lovely kids...
*Played some music, shared some songs and tibetan chants from one part of the world, to another...
*Explored the Amazonian Jungle, near Iquitos, Peru, seen some amazing animals and even hold an albinos baby sloth!
*played gigs in an unexpected way in Gammarth, Tunisa...

Teach, Learn, Share

we will share, teach and learn... What? I don't know! Let's connect first and see what happens!

What I Can Share With Hosts

Stories, music, food!

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Bolivia, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Cyprus, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Guatemala, India, Ireland, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, Peru, Spain, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Cyprus, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Malika's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile