Kiley Miller's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kiley’s full profile.

Overview

  • 11 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Teacher
  • BA in English, BA in French, MA in TEFL/TESL
  • From Cincinnati, OH, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm here to make world-wide friendships and see the world as I go.

I just finished my master's at CSU in TEFL/TESL, which I hope will be one more way to get around the world and meet more people, working as I go. I love to learn about languages and cultures, and try new things - sports, food, beer are some of my favorite new things to try!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I first Couchsurfed in Croatia during my semester abroad in France (Spring 2012), then had a long gap until road tripping around the southeast US in winter 2012 where we surfed quite a bit. Most recently, I surfed here in Fort Collins, CO when I made the decision to move. I've met incredible people who have all had great stories to tell, and I can't wait to get back on the road and keep surfing!

So far I've only gotten to surf, but I look forward to hosting once I have a place with some space!

Interests

I love sports, will play or watch just about anything, but soccer and swimming are my favorites. I read any and all genres, and I write creative nonfiction. I am hoping to learn many more languages, but so far have only studied English and French. Big nights out with dancing and music are always a good time, same as a quiet night in with movies and a puzzle.

  • dancing
  • dining
  • beer
  • movies
  • juggling
  • knitting
  • scrapbooking
  • survival
  • music
  • surfing
  • sports
  • soccer
  • swimming
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Remember the Titans, Ocean's 11, Snatch, Mean Girls, The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus, Boondock Saints, Just Friends, 10 Things I Hate About You, etc.

Music: any and everything! Fall Out Boy, Grouplove, and Walk the Moon are among my favorite bands, and I like a lot of classical, especially Tchaikovsky.

Books/authors: David Sedaris, Chelsea Handler, Augusten Burroughs, Charles Dickens, Stieg Larsson, Harry Potter, Hunger Games series (and most other futuristic dystopian series), and lots more. Most recently Game of Thrones!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Saw the Trevi Fountain in the dead of night and sprinted across the city to watch the sunrise above the Colosseum; skydived in Wollongong, Australia; survived a season of college soccer in Indiana; drove the Blue Ridge Parkway through the Appalachians; watched Hurricane Sandy come in from the relative safety of the Hudson River; three-time Bonnaroo survivor

Teach, Learn, Share

I love languages and would love to learn from a surfer/host, teach what I can about English, or practice my French!

I recently learned how to knit, so I could show you a thing or two about that. I could also teach you how to juggle a soccer ball, French braid or cornrow hair, fold fancy napkins, or scrapbook.

I'm open to learning about anything at all, especially nature and survival skills. I'd love to trade stories about travels and life experiences!

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, Belize, Cayman Islands, Croatia, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Scotland, Spain, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kiley’s full profile.