Lya Xue

New Haven, CT, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lya’s full profile. It’s free!


  • PhD student in molecular biology
  • Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK
  • From Zhengzhou, China
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me


To connect and to create, to understand myself and the world


Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in hamony.

Traveling is the elixier of life, and happiness is the secrete for longevity.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


While I am traveling though US I am overwhelmed by the hospitality of my CS hosts. So when I go back to England I would like to rent a flat with a couch and start hosting.


So far it has been one of the best thing I have ever done in my life. I have couchsurfed Denmark, Hawaii, and California. Everyone who hosted me has been amazing. I also met many cool friends through CS parties and meet-ups.


Biology, especially Genetics, I can talk a lot about it :-P deep sea exploration, volcanos,extraterritorial life

Martial arts: Ju Jitsu and Judo. This is how I keep fit.

New technologies, e.g Robotics, 3D games/education, solar power, transhumanism, Singularity. I am a futurist.

Outdoors: Hiking through primiative forest, caving (or what they call potholing in England :-P), Sailing (I learned sailing in Oahu, Maui, Big Island and San Diego), Surfing (I'm getting there), standup paddling, kayaking.. I fall in love with the ocean while in Hawaii and San Diego.

Food: I LOVE food! Especially sushi, although I'd try anything interesting. Also I'm a big fan in red wine tasting and green tea.

Playing chess, dancing, skateboarding, art (oil painting is my favourite), origami

Music, Movies, and Books

Favourite is probably happy punk music! The energy and melody does it for me. Also I enjoy morden rock (Foo Fighters, Feeder, Korn, Rage against the machine, etc), jazz (with a red wine), country and classic music. But, I can dance to pretty much anything!

Movies: A mixture between Sci-fi, adventure and fantasies-Gattaca, Dannio Darko, Amelie, the big blue, Leon, pi, Forrest Gump, lords of dogtown, riding Giants,The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, Heathers..

Books: The Dice Man, K-pax trilogy, flowers for algernon, a wild sheep chase, the Alchemist, Eleven minutes, currently reading Craig Venter's autobibliography.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiked the 10,000 ft Halealaka in Maui through the vocalno craters, a feeling like walking on Mars.

Watched night fishing for sharks at the longest fishing pier of the west coast in USA. Then on the very next day snokeled the with leopard sharks in La Jolla Cove (My friend made me jump from the kayak~!)

Seen the tallest tree on this planet in Sequoia National Park.

Hitchhiked a beautiful wooden-hull schooner yacht from Oahu to Maui, sailed through (mostly survived) the brutal Molokai channel.

Seen thousands of stars with naked eye at the foot of the observatory in Big island, Hawaii. Seen saturn with its ring with the telescope and three stars in Alpha Centauri beaming with red, green and blue light.

Did the most memorable hike with my Jitsu club in 2010: the Lyke Wake Walk across the North York Moors, from Osmotherley to Ravenscar (40miles under 20hrs with no sleep at all).

Teach, Learn, Share

I am continously learning- I learned some sailing, snokeling, surfing, kayaking while I'm traveling through Hawaii and California. I would like to try horseback riding, learn how to paraglide/hanglide on this trip. In a long run I'd like to learn saxophone/Irish flute one day.

I'll be able to show you some simple but effective self-defense techniques, or some Judo throws if you are up for it :-P

Of course I can teach you Mandrian, including its amazingly simple grammer! You will be able to write any numbers from 1 to 1 million in Chinese in no time.

Countries I’ve Visited

China, Denmark, France, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Lya’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups