Kim W's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kim’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Hmong, Khmer
  • 67, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • Teacher/Writer
  • Yes
  • From United States
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

I've been teaching English as a Second Language in Thailand, Cambodia, and Laos (mostly in rural and mountainous areas) for most of the past 9 years and would like to return to the US for maybe one to three months for a health check-up and chiropractic treatment to relieve some disc compression causing numbness I don't appreciate in my lower legs and feet. Cramping my running/jogging and hiking style!The doctor I will see is in Houston, Texas so that's my current destination.

Before teaching in Southeast Asia, I was doing social work in healthcare, HIV, and with the elderly in Arizona, California and Hawai'i. I've been getting around! Like to meet all kinds of people from all kinds of places. Non-smoker. Don't drink much at all. Love helping people achieve their dreams with the skills I can share.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My immediate need (as soon as travel restrictions, documentation and costs to leave Cambodia return to fairly normal) is to find a temporary place to stay while I return to the US to get some chiropractic treatment in Houston with a great Doc! Could be short-term like a couple weeks to longer term--couple months possible. My guess is that this travel would be possible for sometime in the months of August through October 2022.

Interests

  • nature
  • hawaii
  • lgbt+
  • #houston
  • missouri city texas

Music, Movies, and Books

Mixing traditional music with popular music, country, and blue grass are favorites. Favorite book of all time? The Fifth Sacred Thing (and my own annotated book of poetry!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Taught English with appreciative students mostly in the rural and mountainous areas of Southeast Asia for about 9 years so far.

Teach, Learn, Share

Love to learn from others and listen to their experiences and sharing my own.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Travel and teaching experiences in Southeast Asia, Hawai'i, California and Arizona.

Countries I’ve Visited

Laos

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Cambodia, Canada, England, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Kim’s full profile.