Logo orange

Kimi Wei

Fair Lawn, NJ, United States

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kimi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 11 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Chinese, Hebrew (modern)
  • 54, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Sustainable communities & EJ advocate
  • Auto-didact since age 10
  • From Englewood, NJ
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I love sustainable engagement and culture.

ABOUT ME

I love food, cooking, social justice and traditional culture. My family has a community garden plot this year. Family is me and two very cool sons ages 18 & 22. My family is very engaged with sustainability, and environmental, social and media justice, and fair trade and we sponsor Green Drinks events in 3 north Jersey cities each month. When you're in the area 1st, 2nd Monday nights or 3rd Tuesdays at lunchtime, we hope you'll stop by. Check http://greendrinks3.org for times & locations.

I was born in New York City and haven't gone far - I live in north New Jersey about 15 minutes straight east from the George Washington Bridge in upper Manhattan. I am passionate about the need to protect the open internet (net neutrality) and love the communication power of technology and language. I believe in the goodness of people.

PHILOSOPHY

Be in the moment. Cultivate a still mind and an active life. Give generously. Reality is everyone's friend. Respect is essential. Honor your parents.

Nurture hopes and dreams, they may be the most important aspect of yourself.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Available for: can meet for coffee, a meal, an event ... and show visitors around NYC. I've got really interesting life stories to tell and have a wealth of information about sustainability that I love to share.

Want: Like to meet new people when I travel for work or pleasure and share a meal or couchsurf for a night or two.

Would love to find people to visit within a few hours' driving distance of New York City to visit.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I travelled the world in my 20s and couchsurfed in Israel and Brazil. Met many wonderful people and had great adventures. but was locally bound in the NYC area for a couple of decades of motherhood, which isn't to say life has been boring. My family lives within a stone's throw of New York City and we are sociable and active people.

I enjoy being on the leading edge of cultural, social, social/environmental justice, small business and technology issues and enjoy spending time with new and old friends.

A love of good food runs in my family and I know a lot of great places to eat.

As for nights away from home, I would love to have more places to visit especially places within a few hours' drive of New Jersey.

Interests

I enjoy adventure, people, social systems and the "messier" aspects of life - interacting with people with traditional cultural persepctives, neighborhoods not gentrified, food from places that are very different from antiseptic diners.

Also enjoy nature, culture, food, languages, entrepreneurship, fair trade, environmental/social/media justice, sustainability.

Music, Movies & Books

Jonathan Livingston Seagull
English mystery novels
Alexander McCall Smith's Scottish and Botswana series
Laughing In the Wind, a Chinese telenovel series
G-d is Brazilian
Ocean's 13
Chinese Kungfu movies taking place in ancient China
King Arthur/Avalon

One Amazing Thing I've Done

As a teen, I visited the old China – that would be, the China rapidly being demolished today to transform the country into an ultra-modern and highly sanitized, homogenous landscape and visited my dad's childhood home, which had been converted into a 'tennis shoe factory'.

Happened to have crossed the international date line on the flight there - which was cool too.

Teach, Learn, Share

Stuff about sustainability and sustainable living
Community gardening
Programming - want to learn python and javascript
Share knowledge of small business development skills & creating thriving local economies
Love to share cultural traditions
Love to share good meals, especially those involving Chinese food. Yummm.

What I Can Share With Hosts

A great attitude
Wonderful stories
Interest in who you/your family are, what you do and where you live
Flexibility!
Gratitude
Appreciation for you hosting me and for whatever food you offer to share
Love to get involved in whatever my hosts are doing (except rowdy partying, which I'm not really into)

Countries I've Visited

Brazil, China, Denmark, England, France, Hong Kong, Israel, Italy, Japan, Wales

Countries I've Lived In

Brazil, Hong Kong, Israel, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kimi's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile