KING_FIAT's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 10% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see KING_FIAT’s full profile.

Overview

  • 24 references 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 51, Male
  • Member since 2005
  • Oil & Gas Industry
  • Postgraduate
  • From Mount Isa, Queensland, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To visit new places, make new friends and renew old acquaintances along the way.

ABOUT ME

I'm an Australian of mixed Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander (Murray Island), English (Lancashire), Irish (Fermanagh, Northern Ireland and County Cork) and Filipino (Kalibo, Western Visayas) ancestry. My maternal ancestors, the First Nations peoples, have lived on the Australian continent and her islands for many tens of thousands of years. I descend from the Yadhaigana people of Cape York Peninsula and from the Meriam people of Mer (Murray Island) only a couple of hundred kilometres from Papua New Guinea.

I've spent half my working life overseas in faraway lands.

I'm both a Taurus and a Rat (Chinese Zodiac).

I've been a couchsurfing pioneer since 2005. I'm earthy. I think I have a great sense of humour because I laugh at my own jokes. I'm very easy to get along with.

MY TRAVEL PHILOSOPHY

I took the one less traveled by and that made all the difference ...(The Road Not Taken)

The only trips you regret are the ones you didn't take...

The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page... (St Augustine).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

For the randomness of it all. I enjoy the company and the interaction. It's easy to assume the worst of people. But I choose to believe that most people are good at heart.

Couchsurfing is the world on speed-dating. And I love meeting fellow earthlings. Our lives intersect ever so briefly. We share the same space for a few days; go our separate ways; and will probably never meet again.

Interests

Travelling off the beaten track, music, photography, writing, walking, wine appreciation, good food. I enjoy meeting people from all walks of life.

Music, Movies, and Books

I enjoy a good laugh. A sense of humour is a pre-requisite for anyone who stays with me. I am addicted to horror films and thrillers. I also enjoy reading books, again on a wide range of subjects.

I have a strong desire to learn as much about other people, places and cultures as I possibly can.

I HATE DOING DISHES!!!!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I saw the initial break up and entry of the Mir Space Station over Samoa in the South Pacific. It was like dozens of shooting stars in slow motion with an unforgettable 'crackling' sound.

Teach, Learn, Share

My heart and mind are always open to new possibilities.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm happy to share what I have; well everything except my bed and bank account.

I feel honoured when guests stay. I'll always provide a warm, welcoming and comfortable environment.

Countries I’ve Visited

American Samoa, Angola, Austria, Belgium, Benin, Botswana, Cameroon, Canada, Central African Republic, Chile, China, Croatia, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Gabon, Germany, Guinea, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Mali, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, New Zealand, Niger, Niue, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Singapore, Slovenia, Somalia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tanzania, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Angola, Australia, Ethiopia, Gabon, Samoa, Tanzania, Zambia

Old School Badges

  • 4 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see KING_FIAT’s full profile.

My Groups