Kirsten Harris's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kirsten’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 37, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Lecturer in English Literature (I finally have a grown up...
  • I've spent a lot of my life reading books but I I'm not d...
  • From Sheffield's been home for while now (UK)
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My current mission is to get to find the underbelly of KL - to find all the magical stuff about this place that makes you go 'wow', and is a bit odd and interesting, and has nothing to do with megamalls. And to meet people like that too.

ABOUT ME

I'm a lively, friendly person who has just moved to Kuala Lumpur. I'm now a lecturer teaching English Literature at a university here, but I've spent a lot of my life living less conventionally - hitchhiking around, going to festivals and rainbow gatherings and the like, and I'm dead keen to open my house to people on the road in the way that strangers have done for me so often. And also meet some lovely people :)

PHILOSOPHY

Hmmmn. I want a gentle, happy life with a healthy smattering of adventures. I like to feel at home in lots of different communities. I believe in a vague hippie-type universal consciousness but enjoy sarcastic banter with cynics. I would like to spend more time outdoors than I can right now, and my friends mean everything to me. I like a mixture of wholesomeness (homecooked food, knitted jumpers, growing plants, outdoor activities) and general munterness (to use a Sheffield phrase) - going to festivals, staying awake for days, fancy dress and heavy techno.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I haven't done couch surfing specifically, but I've done a lot of travelling round by hitching and sleeping on the side of the road or with people you meet along the way or with random friends of friends of friends contacts. I'm well used to being a guest in these things and am excited about finally being in a position to offer a washing machine, hot water, etc to others!

Interests

I love riding my bike - though I haven't yet got one over here :( - and going walking and camping and generally spending as much time as possible outside. I've been living in Sheffield for the past 5 years, so lots of lovely Peak District related activity. I also love baking and knitting and I'm just about to teach myself how to use a sewing machine. Ooh, and I've been doing furniture making for the last few years and would love to learn some more about that.

  • books
  • literature
  • festivals
  • dining
  • cooking
  • baking
  • walking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • knitting
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • camping
  • surfing
  • hitchhiking
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

My knowledge of movies is shameful, music is pretty varied, although I've always done well at having very music knowledgeable housemates and now I live on my own, and books...well, there are too many. I read for work and I read for fun adn trying to talk about your favourite books is like trying to choose a favourite puppy....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Impossible! There are so many mountains and night skies and incredible sights on long walks and amazing moments with people you meet along the way.

Rainbow gatherings always super magical, as are the adventures involved in getting to them.
Living in Cusco made me very happy.
Sheffield may not be very exotic, but the people there and the fun to be had always leaves me awestruck.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach people how to do basic knitting.
I can also recommend good books.
We can talk about crafty stuff and making furniture and cooking and baking.

And I would like to learn whatever you have to teach.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, France, Germany, India, Italy, Mozambique, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Malaysia, Peru, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe

Join Couchsurfing to see Kirsten’s full profile. It’s free!