Catharina Vendl

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Catharina’s full profile. It’s free!


  • vet
  • Degree in vet science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Be curious and discover the world!


After my graduation I decided that it's not time yet to start a real job and settle down. I wanted to live my dreams, to see much more of the world, to enjoy nature and work with wildlife. After almost a year in Australia and the States I came pretty close to that. I had amazing experiences and met a lot of great people. Back in Europe I started a doctoral thesis in Switzerland. Another year brought me back to Australia to do part of my research degree there. Living in the Australian outback and working with kangaroos for almost a year was an amazing experience. I met even more amazing people and that sometimes happened in the most unlikely places like in the middle of nowhere with my car broken down. I will be back to Switzerland very soon to finish my degree. I had to leave Australia for that, but I am sure that my exciting journey won't be over for a long time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I started my couchsurfing experiences in Australia. I met a lot of nice people through couchsurfing. I made a couple of good friends this way especially in Melbourne where I stayed the longest. I haven't done a lot of actual couchsurfing. I mainly used it to get in touch with people and made new friends at new places. It worked out quite well.


I love nature and being outdoors. I like to observe and discover wildlife. To travel to new places and to meet new people is extremly stimulating and since I do so for almost a year now I can't get enough of it. I am still very curious.
I love sports as well. I can't stop being active, I love to go running, inline skating or some other kind of work out. Back in Germany I used to do martial arts. My favorite is Escrima though, which is phillipino style stick fighting and really fun.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watching kangaroos on a golf course at the Great Ocean Road near Melbourne hoping to catch some of them and cuddle their joeys afterwards. Only for scientific purposes of course.
Two months of volunteer work for a dolphin PhD project in Bunbury, Western Australia. I loved that town, the dolphins and the hammerhead sharks!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, France, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, France, Germany, New Zealand, Switzerland, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Catharina’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups