Rory Battleday's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 65% response rate
  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rory’s full profile.

Overview

  • 13 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Italian, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Perpetual student---scientist and doctor by training, exi...
  • Biochemistry, Medicine, Neuroscience, Computer Science
  • From Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a wandering thinker, forever seeking inspiration in the great and small things of life; and enjoying it when it comes.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I joined many years ago, and the same reason keeps me here: the people. I've met many beautiful characters, and made great friends; hopefully I've also helped out a few in need, travelling through foreign lands.

Interests

Anything with a bit of blues in it; yoga; classical literature; the outdoors! Walking / skiing / running / mountain biking / surfing (badly).

  • literature
  • yoga
  • running
  • walking
  • blues
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • skiing

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite book is Ulysses, and I am drawn to existential literature (Satre, Camus, Dostoevsky) and fusions of the two (Pynchon, Kazanstakis, DeLillo). For poetry, Neruda and Cummings.

I love movies that take time to tell their tale: Casablanca, Antonini, Kieslowski.

I listen to classical music for inspiration, jazz and soul when I'm cooking, and hiphop when I'm enjoying an evening. I once played trumpet in a soul band, and thoroughly enjoyed it.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Delivering twins on the shores of the Caribbean.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A well-travelled laugh and an interest in different perspectives. In Lucca, a sofa bed and interest in exploring the city together.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belize, Cambodia, Colombia, Croatia, Ethiopia, France, Guatemala, India, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Laos, Malawi, Mexico, New Zealand, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Rory’s full profile.

My Groups