Karol Janas's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Karol’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 26 References 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Polish; learning Norwegian Bokmål, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • No occupation listed
  • I have a university degrees in mechanical engineering and...
  • From Gdansk
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Making some money and gaining some experience at work, so I can have a better mission soon - sailing around the world, can be good.


When I was a kid I wanted to become a garbage man.
I had a lego garbage truck and it was the closest I got to it.

Than in high school I wanted to become a rock star.
I played the drums from couple of years, but finally again, apart from few concerts in local bars it didn't work out.

Who have I became than?
I would like to say that traveller, sailor and a beginning journalist.
In fact now I spend most of my time sitting in front of computer and working as an engineer.
Time will tell what's gonna be next.


Do whatever you like as long as you don't hurt the others.
Be yourself, don't care what other people think and say. But also understand and accept your limitations and identity.
Don't do anything just to impress anyone.
Have fun.
Don't dream your life, live your dream.
Don't regret.
What goes around comes around.
Respect every other human.
Compete with yourself, not with others.
Passion, passion!! The only way to succeed in life is to do things with passion!
Do not run for material things, run for experiences!
Challenge yourself!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have been surfing quite a bit before. Now, since I moved to Norway I finally have a possibility to host others. And I do it both because it's fun to meet new people and I have a need to give something back to all these wonderful who helped me during my travels.


I surfed in a couple of countries in Europe, Asia and Australia. Also hosted travellers at my place in Norway.
I'd met so many great and helpful people. Couchsurfing opens so much, many times people who I simply met in the street offered me a couch just because they were participating in CS.


Social Antropology
Different Cultures

  • writing
  • photography
  • concerts
  • running
  • working out
  • traveling
  • music
  • drums
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • rock climbing
  • engineering
  • journalism

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Emir Kusturica movies, Everything is illuminated, Into the wild, 12 monkeys, Tarantino movies, Slumdog millionaire, Dancing with wolves, In search of sugarman, Straight story, Baraka

Music: grunge and punk when I was 13, now lots of different stuff: trip hop, folk, chill, rock, cuban, energetic, slow, gipsy, Massive Attack, Johnny Cash, Bob Dylan, Gogol bordello, Manu chao, live music!

Books: mostly reports and travelling/sailing books.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Sailed the 44foot ketch across the Pacific Ocean

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Cook Islands, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Fiji, French Polynesia, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Malaysia, Netherlands, Niue, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Tonga, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vanuatu

Countries I’ve Lived In

Norway, Poland, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Karol’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups