Kristin Kelly's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 60% response rate
  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristin’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 71 References 63 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Marine biologist/teacher/wanderer
  • B.A. in Marine Biology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

See the world

ABOUT ME

When I graduated from university, I intended to take a year off to travel before finding a job or heading to grad school....that's what you're supposed to do right? Well 4 and 1/2 years later and I've managed to couchsurf through NZ, Australia, and Western Europe, backpack around Southeast Asia, teach English in Phuket, go trekking in Nepal, get paid to dive with sharks in California, and work on a dive boat on the Great Barrier Reef. I think I'm doing life right! Who knows where the wind will take me next....

PHILOSOPHY

wonder & wander

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surfed while I was traveling for 7 months, then played hostess for 8 months in Phuket, then surfed around Europe for 3 months, then hosted again for a few months in Cairns. Back to surfing!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed in: New Zealand, Australia, Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, Nepal, France, Italy, Belgium, Netherlands, Iceland and the US with many wonderful hosts!

Hosted in: Phuket (100 people in 8 months!), Cairns

Interests

I want to visit every place on this beautiful earth. I want to meet new people and try new things without being a typical tourist. I love the outdoors and being spontaneous with my travels. I love science and nature and interesting conversations. I like learning anything outside of my normal range of knowledge.

  • boating
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • backpacking
  • surfing
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Music- just about anything (not joking), it just depends on my mood. I'm a huge sucker for Dave Matthews Band, and I currently enjoy folk/indie groups like Mumford and Sons, Bear's Den, Of Monsters and Men
Movies- preferably funny or scary, but my all time favorite is The Secret Life of Walter Mitty
Books- "Into the Wild" is my bible, but "The 4-hour Workweek" is a close second

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Too many to list, but most are the result of deciding to "say yes more"

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, Fiji, France, Hong Kong, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Thailand, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristin’s full profile. It’s free!