Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathleen’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 4 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 53, Other
  • Member since 2011
  • Engineer
  • BS, MS in Mechanical Engineering; trauma & attachment stu...
  • From St. Louis, MO, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Live. Love. Help. Travel.


Both of us: Honest, hospitable, enjoy reading, dancing, outdoor activities like hiking and canoeing, hanging with friends and family.

Kathleen: organized, planner, slightly introverted (but mostly hides it well). Loves rollerblading, cooking, dark malty beer, chocolate.

Ric: extroverted, very sociable, spontaneous, runs, plays basketball, pretty much will do anything if there's someone to do it with.


Be a net positive in the world.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Have surfed and plan to host.


Have surfed at several locations. Plan to host as well.

We have often hosted thru other organizations (AFS exchange students, local college students needing a place to stay for the holidays, church student groups passing thru).


We love hiking, biking, canoeing, tennis; we also run (trail run) and play volleyball. Ric - softball, basketball, skiing, pretty much anything. Kathleen also likes inline skating. Hanging out with friends and family. Travel. Reading.

  • dancing
  • swing dancing
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • beer
  • reading
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • skiing
  • basketball
  • tennis
  • volleyball
  • swimming
  • softball
  • lindy hop
  • blues dancing

Music, Movies, and Books

Ric loves movies, Kathleen loves to read. We both listen to audio books from a lot - mysteries, action, suspense, historical fiction, fantasy.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watched a puma mom and two kits at Torres del Paine National Park in Chile for about 45 minutes.

Teach, Learn, Share

Adoption parenting - helping parents cope with the behaviors that come from early trauma. Developmental movement. Cooking.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation. Cooking. An extra set of hands for projects.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Canada, Chile, China, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Kathleen’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups