Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 28% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Meggan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 25 References 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Italian
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • performer-ish
  • International Business & Spanish
  • From Calhoun, GA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*I can only host campers due to my living arrangement at the moment, I do have a lovely backyard and firepit though! You will generally have access to my house *

What I think my friends would say about me: I think about food a lot. I have an irreverent sense of humor--sometimes dark, often weird. I try not to take life too seriously. I can be pretty nerdy and/or quiet sometimes...not necessarily because I'm antisocial, but maybe because I have a wandering mind. And also I'm a little antisocial :)

Otherwise, I like to see new things and stay active, but a day spent playing backgammon and drinking coffee is by all means a perfect day.

Grew up + colleged in GA. Moved to Jackson, Wyoming (maybe the most majestically beautiful place in the U.S.), then left in 2012 to explore the world while volunteering on farms in exchange for room and board. I moved to Los Angeles about a two years ago for performance-type stuff (comedy, singing, acting, whatever). I like it here...a lot.

PHILOSOPHY

"The idea is to remain in a state of constant departure while always arriving"

"happiness is a dog sunning itself on a rock. We're not put on this earth to be happy. We're here to experience great things"

(happiness doesn't hurt, though)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When hosting or surfing I always try to cook a meal or share some good drinks together ...giving back counts, and I do appreciate when guests apply this rule to themselves:)

I better mention that I am a pretty hands-off host, even when I am at home with you, so if you come I hope you're happy to be your own entertainment and tour guide——no offense!

Interests

cooking (and most things food-related), reading, yoga, hiking, ocean swimming, comedy, skiing, dancing (poorly), painting my face, painting your face, traveling, singing/music, being with animals, board games, card games, outer space, sustainability, supporting local...the list goes on...

Music, Movies, and Books

books: catch-22, a confederacy of dunces, ishmael, LOTR, the unbearable lightness of being, the awakening, the fountainhead, lolita, time's arrow, tom robbins, born to run, barbara kingslover, catcher in the rye, the monkeywrench gang, nada, harry potter, ender's game, beatrice & virgil, etcccc
movies: royal tennanbaums, lion king, waking life, fantastic planet...
music: ELO, Rat Pack guys, 50s, old jazz, blues, old standards, Ratatat, Little Dragon, Talking Heads, Modest Mouse, David Bowie, Radiohead, the Boss, LCD Sounsystem, Hot Chip, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Alabama Shakes, Tame Impala, Jason Isbell, Wilco, dance music, M83, Velvet Underground, Philip Glass, Queen, Sufjan, Yeahyeahyeahs, Arcade Fire...so very very much more. Just don't give me new country and gangsta rap.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

all-night shaman experience in the Amazon?

Teach, Learn, Share

I think that everybody has something to teach, but sometimes it takes a while to figure out just what it is.

As for me, if I have anything to teach I'll modestly say that it probably would have to do mostly with good food or traveling.

I'd also love to practice Spanish and/or my very beginner-level Italian!

What I Can Share with Hosts

A meal! Drinks! An ear (metaphorically)!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Chile, China, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Peru, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Meggan’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups