Logo orange

Kokulka

Perth, Western Australia, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kokulka's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 5 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Polish
  • 24, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Student
  • University (Medicine)
  • From Perth/Poland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

sharing memories, sharing germs

ABOUT ME

No one likes filling these out!

#1 love dancing and live music venues. reckon that when you dance, you feel like a kid again. used to go to indie/jazz venues but have been digging the electronic scene recently

#2 I do things that i know i shouldn't do and i don't keep opinions to myself :)

#3 I am a nerd, but I also like doing things that are spur of the moment. I have a lovely group of friends and I've posed for the UWA student newspaper naked and swam in a river where dolphins show up diseased or dead. i am scared off becoming "just a med student"

#4 I'm very good with gays

#5 love to read good books and watch good movies. nothing better than chilling with friends over a good bottle of wine.

#6 love hiking and being outdoors. i'd rather walk/bike somewhere than take a car.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I couchsurfed for the first time in Fes and met a wonderful girl who taught me to love couchsurfing. We stayed with her very big and generous family, took day trips to Volubilis, chatted into the night and learnt about what was important to her. She also recommended a wonderful couchsurfer in the desert and I had the most incredible experience hanging out with two Berber guys, looking at stars, learning to play the drums and make tagine.

Ultimately, my dream is to couchsurf all through Poland and finally really getting to know the country of my parents and my origins.

Interests

music (playing/listening)
dancing (latin/swing/fun timez everywhere)
reading
science + medicine
yoga + meditation

Music, Movies & Books

Used to play jazz trumpet and classical piano. hard to keep up with music and a med degree.

Music: http://www.last.fm/user/kokulka. my music is pretty much a scrap book of most things and my taste changes all the time.
At the moment (spotify makes things easier) I am listening to: gold panda, ratatat, neutral milk hotel, velvet underground, mount kimbie, actress, dan deacon, yo la tengo.

Books: love reading essays; big fan of south american, and indian lit.

fav books (i'm sure i'll miss somethign!): lolita, unbearable lightness of being, master and the margherita, cat's cradle, norwegian wood, catch 22, a clockwork orange, eva luna, feast of the goat, love in the time of cholera, frankenstein.... ya get it! :)

movies: only just started watching them! too many to list. big fan of polanski, paul thomas anderson and wes anderson, woody allen and eastern european films (yeah, i know that makes me a wanker, but i feel a pretty strong nostalgia for cold war eastern europe. that makes me sound even worse)
some movies i like: melancholia, fight club, amelie, fight club, requiem for a dream, taxi driver, some like it hot, rear window annie hall, blade runner, goodfellas, memento, laura, barbara, a separation, the sweet hereafter, the lives of others, knife in water etc.

tv shows: girls, arrested development, curb your enthusiasm, twin peaks, it's always sunny.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hanging out wiht a family of pyromaniacs and watching an illegally obtained cannon go off in the Australian south.

riding alone around the completely pitch black cambodian forest at 5am on a bike without brakes just to see the sunrise over Angkor Wat.

seeing phosphorescence on electricity-free rabbit island.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kokulka's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile