Kolin and Jen  Friske's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 5 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kolin and Jen ’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Photographer/Yoga Instructor
  • College Diploma
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a photographer and recently trained yoga instructor. I made my way to Rishikesh, India in October 2016 to complete my 200hr Yoga teacher training.
I'm now teaching and photographing locally. I have a beautiful wife Jen, who is a teacher, and three of the best, most personable cats on the planet. We are avid outdoors people who love nature, animals and travel. We're a quiet couple for the most part. We enjoy a good evening on the town, or a weekend away camping or just a relaxing night at home together. While we are enthusiastic about going to music shows, or hitting a patio for a few drinks on a warm summer night, we're not bar-hoppers or club-goers. We believe in the simple things in life and try to live modestly yet comfortably.

Jen is an elementary school teacher and just completed her time as a graduate student to get her masters in educational studies.

In 2017/2018, we are planning our first round the world trip where we will travel all 7 continents in 12 months. Obviously, we're pretty pumped about that! We're keen to hear from others who have traveled and swap stories, connections and suggestions with them.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We are wanting to make new friends and connections for our upcoming round the world trip. If we can host travellers, we hope our karmic return will be that we'll find others willing to open their doors and provide a bed for us, too when we need it. What better way to get to know people and places than to stay locally!

Interests

Photography, Hiking, Biking, Travel, Music, Food, Running, Snowshoeing, camping, voluntourism .

  • animals
  • cats
  • photography
  • dining
  • running
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • snowshoeing
  • communications
  • teaching
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Coldplay, Imagine Dragons, Alt-J, Mumford and sons, Bon Iver, broods, Milo Greene, July Talk, Jungle, miike snow, TV on the radio,

Mallrats, Old School, Oceans eleven.

To kill a mockingbird, the passage, into thin air

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Slept under the stars in the Outback!!
Spent 10 days living in a Treehouse in the Jungles of Osa Peninsula Costa Rica.
Volunteered at an Orangutan Sanctuary in Malaysian Borneo.

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy talking about and sharing my passion for photography. Either by showing you the images I've taken, or going out and shooting together to teach you a little, or to learn a little from you. Jen's first Bachelor of Science degree is in Primatology. She spent 4 years learning about and studying primates both at the Calgary Zoo and in the field in the jungles of Belize. It is her #1 bucket list item to see all of the great apes in the wild. We have so far checked Orangutans off that list by traveling around Malaysian Borneo, one of only 2 places on earth where you can see them. She loves to talk about and share her experiences related to all things primates any chance she can get!

What I Can Share with Hosts

We'd love to be able to provide a meal or two to you, be it Western cuisine or perhaps experimenting with more local ingredients. We'd also love to stay in touch via email or social media so we can share photographs we take of your area with you, if you are interested.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Haiti, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Laos, Liechtenstein, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mexico, Namibia, Nepal, New Zealand, Peru, Poland, Puerto Rico, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Uganda, United States, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, British, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Kolin and Jen ’s full profile. It’s free!