Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see KOOLKARMA’s full profile.


  • 300 references 147 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Lithuanian, Ukrainian
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Journalist and Blogger
  • life, experience, travelling, some at university
  • From Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Just meet me or get in contact with me. i am generally a really nice and communicative person. i am also trying to offer help a lot to the people i know. so thats basically it. i know a lot more, but wont make any use to strangers. but anybody is welcome to find out:-)

A little more about me on www.rooksack.de

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have hosted over 100 people and surfed about another 100. If I can't host I help people to find a place. If you think I am only on Couchsurfing because I am trying to pimp my profile then you are wrong. I am here because I love to help people and I want to hear their stories. Talking to people is better than sitting at home and watching TV and the reason why I host is because it's my substitute drug for travelling. I still enjoy the time with every surfer and host and I still believe in the spirit of Couchsurfing although the "company CS" has made that very hard at times. In the past I have organized many meetings and I still do every once in a while.


I had been a travel addict for ages but CS changed they way I travel and I wouldn't wanna miss it. I had a great time with the site through the years and met so many interesting people with CS that i can't tell how much I love this project. It's a dream and I will keep it growing with as much effort as I can share. I visited friends and people I met on the internet or somewhere else. I couchsurfed in more than 30 countries on 4 continents. I am a dedicated guest and host.


Travelling, partying, music, literature, so much to write. I am open minded, that's probably the most important.

Music, Movies, and Books


Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, Django Unchained, Pulp Fiction, Forrest Gump, American Beauty, 101 Reykjavik, Virgin Suicides, In China they eat Dogs, Snatch, Long Stockings..., Trainspotting, Wild Style


Daft Punk is my all-time favorite. But as a friend once put it: I like all kinds of music if it's good music :-)


I really like German literature from the 1920s til today. Some of my favs: Hesse, Dürrenmatt, Grass,

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I can't just name one, so here are a few: Floating with manatees in Florida, a motorboat ride on the Volga river in Russia, swimming in the Gulf of Mexico at night and doing a bonfire there, walking through ancient Petra, wondering around Manhattan's west side at dawn, running down sand dunes in Jordan, skydiving by myself in Lithuania.
Every experience I make is unique and I am curious about the one's to come.

Teach, Learn, Share

I share my travel wisdom, my organizational skills. I can share my experiences from life. I can take educated guesses based on stereotypes and I am pretty good at that:-D I can teach you how to write a good article and how to find information you need. I have knowledge about the countries I travelled and you are welcome to get a fair share of it if you like. I am a Berlin expert so you can try to enjoy the city with me if I have time.
I learned many things about other people, the common things between the cultures I lived and travelled in and I still think most people are generally good. I still would love to find out about your life, your country, your experience and your viewpoint on the places you are or have been living.
I sometimes share my place too:-D

What I Can Share with Hosts

Read the teach, learn, share section. That pretty much sums it up :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Austria, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cabo Verde, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Lithuania, Ukraine, United States

Old School Badges

  • 105 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see KOOLKARMA’s full profile.

My Groups