Kristaps Balodis's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristaps’s full profile.


  • 3 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Italian, Sign Language - American
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Mathematician
  • PhD (current)
  • From Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi there! I'm a PhD studewnt in mathematics.

This is my first time updating this in a while! I'm currently in Italy for a summer school about a special intersection of computer science and mathematics. I'm staying in Italy afterwards to travel for a while, hoping to make some friends and possibly find a place to stay some nights. I would also like to practice my extremely basic Italian.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have travelled many times using couchsurfing, and have had wonderful experiences. I'd like to continue doing so, and also host when I have the ability again.
Staying at fancy hotels can be fun, but if I go somewhere I want to meet people, have conversations, check out neat local gems and hidden treasures!


  • coffee
  • chess
  • traveling
  • music
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • sightseeing
  • nature
  • maths
  • math
  • math rock
  • nature walks

Music, Movies, and Books

I have a hard time picking an absolute favorite of anything, there's just so much stuff out there that I'm into, I'd hate to put anything before the rest :p
Lot's of people claim to have a wide pallet of music, but fall short of those claims. I'm happy listening to pop and rock from any era. I dig classical stuff, harsh experimental noise, country, folk, electronic stuff, world music. (That list is by no means exhaustive) I wouldn't say I enjoy everything, but I'll give any artist a try.
I don't watch as many movies or read as much fiction as I once did. School takes up a lot of my time now, but I live with filmmakers, so movies have a way of getting to me.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I received my black belt in Tae Kwon Do when I was 16/17, but I haven't kept it up. Amazing is a strong word, so I'm hesitant to describe the rest of my accomplishments as "amazing".
I also was paid to do mathematics research this past Summer, which resulted in a paper that we have submitted for publication, so I think that's pretty cool.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love teaching, talking and sharing all things mathematics. I offer private tutoring as a way to make a little extra income, and often teach my friends neat little facts about numbers, fractals, different sizes of infinity, and other weird stuff mathematicians think about. I have YouTube videos about mathematics under the name "K-Theory."

I've also taught (basic) guitar lessons to a number of people over the years. My knowledge of formal music theory is lacking, but I'm slowly changing that. I've dabbled in some other instruments and am open to sharing and learning more.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Conversation, ideas, and adventures!

Countries I’ve Visited

Italy, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Kristaps’s full profile.