Kristen MacKenzie's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristen’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • No languages listed
  • 45, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Nanny/writer
  • High school, massage school, some college
  • From Colville, WA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Active and independent, devoted to health and fitness, I love to explore and seek out new adventures to write about in my tiny cabin by the water.

Smoothie-fueled salad fiend, I generally consider food as fuel but make exceptions for unique flavors encountered on journeys or anything lovingly crafted from organic local ingredients. My kitchen is more like a humble ship's galley but I enjoy making all my own meals, finding the ways whole foods can be soul-satisfying and little luxuries like the very best coffee and a piece of dark chocolate can be bliss on a cold night.

Compulsive coop-builder and chicken-wrangler currently chicken-less, I'm raising quail in a hutch that needs rat-proofing, and rabbits in the chicken-less coop. On weekends I walk the beach my quail get to stare at all week while I work in the city, and climb the trail to sand dunes with a view. If the season is right, I hit the loop trail from the dunes and pick nettle, cleavers, St. John's Wort and chickweed to dry and add to my apothecary, or wild greens to enhance my animal's diet.

As an amateur herbalist with a number of years of study under my belt, both on my own and in the classroom, I'm happy to devote the only dedicated storage space in my little house to the walls of bottles and jars, bags and tubes filled with everything I might need to make whatever medicine or salve, soap or tincture that might be needed.

And every available horizontal surface is taken over by books and maps, rocks and shells, marking all the adventures I've already been on and luring me into new ones.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

In my travels, I've always opted to stay in people's homes rather than in motels because part of a journey, for me, is having the chance to see any new place through the eyes of those who know it well.

I'm intrigued by the idea of doing so for free, naturally, and eager to meet other travelers.

Interests

  • writing
  • yoga
  • reading
  • knitting
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • travel
  • weightlifting
  • green living
  • herbalism
  • building
  • wildcrafting
  • clean eating
  • soap-making

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Melissa Ferrick, Muse, Zoe Keating, Bing Crosby (I'm not talking Christmas music here), Jamie Cullum , Annie Lennox, Depeche Mode, Gregory Alan Isakov...

Movies: Stranger Than Fiction, Moonrise Kingdom, Big Fish

Books: H is for Hawk, Dear Thief, Pages for You, Gut Symmetry, The Blue Place, Outlander, The Tattoo Artist, A Gentleman in Moscow

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Designed and built a ten by six chicken coop and a quail hutch in one month without benefit of another pair of hands or any appreciable math skills. ("Honestly, I don't have Tourette's. It's just a phase. " Phrase repeated most often to passing neighbors during this one month period.)

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to share what I've learned about how common herbs can have such a good impact on health and wellbeing and I'm always ready to point out edible greens growing around me, or share the uses for plants most often considered weeds if a person is interested.

As an avid learner, I consider myself a beginner in most things but I'm happy to share any experience I have with the hobbies I love.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A few great trails, the coolest ole-timey coffee-roaster/green grocer, lots of stories about amazing things I've gotten to see in my travels, a gorgeous view from my wall of windows and a quiet beach to wander.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, England, Jamaica, Norway, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristen’s full profile.