Kristen Grizzly's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 27 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristen’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 8 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • I'm a writer and a scientist at heart with passion for co...
  • BS in Environmental Biology and Zoology
  • From The Midwest and the South in USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Back to Australia for a spell, then ?

ABOUT ME

I'm a dreamer and a story-teller. I love science, music, art, the outdoors, adventuring, and learning. I have a diverse personality, but I'm generally positive and very laid back. I always pull my weight (hint: I'm a bomb-ass cook) and will give back in any way possible.

I play flute, didgeridoo, djembe, and ukulele. I'm also a honeybee enthusiast.

PHILOSOPHY

Smile.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'll help out in any way I can. I love to cook for people, and would be more than happy to make meals. I can also help out with any other projects, like cleaning, gardening, painting, building, etc.
If you're a musician, let's jam! If you're an artist, let's get crafty! If you're an adventurer, let's explore! If you're all of the above, why are we not best friends yet?

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My first host was in Minneapolis, after which I got the idea to do some serious travel. I couchsurfed with several amazing hosts in Maui, and spent a week in a lovely little apartment in Sydney, Australia. After that, everywhere I stayed ended up being coordinated through HelpX and new friends.
Otherwise, I've been couchsurfing among friends for years. I spent 3 nights of the week on couches when I commuted to work, and my spontaneous lifestyle means regularly crashing in random spots. My favorite story of this was when I slept on the floor under a keyboard in Jeff Daniels' recording studio. I can sleep just about anywhere, and I aim to leave no trace.

Interests

I'm a jack of many trades and a master of none. My hobbies include art, music (I play flute, didgeridoo, djembe, ukulele, and autoharp), inventive cooking, camping, kiteboarding, photography, DIY, costuming, and writing.

  • dining
  • cooking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • animal care
  • painting
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • camping
  • adventure races
  • snorkeling
  • agriculture
  • biology
  • science
  • kombucha

Music, Movies, and Books

....I'll try my best to make this concise. Apologies in advance for the abbreviations.

Movies: Star Wars (Han shot first), LOTR, Disney, Big Fish, Donnie Darko, Stardust, Miyazaki, Monty Python
Books: Roald Dahl, Douglas Adams, A Wrinkle in Time, The Phantom Tollbooth, 1984
Music: Classic rock (Zeppelin, Doors, Floyd, Stones), Jam bands (Wookiefoot, Nahko and Medicine for the People, Xavier Rudd, Phish, String Cheese Incident), alt rock (Muse, RHCP), electronic (Pretty Lights), Indie/wtf (Flight of the Conchords), folk/bluegrass, jazz, classical

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I wrote a book from concept to completion in 200 days. The subject was a man that I had never met who had just been diagnosed with liver cancer. His life had been incredible, and fully worthy of several books. The bulk of the writing was completed within the two months following his passing. It was the hardest thing I've ever done in my life... sometimes I can't believe that I actually pulled it off.

Teach, Learn, Share

Interested in keeping honey bees? I can show you the ropes! I've given lectures on bee biology, and I could talk for HOURS on the subject. I've found a passion for sharing my knowledge of animals and ecosystems, especially with kids. My other areas of expertise are in wildlife management, animal care, and cooking. I can also teach you how to play didgeridoo (although I probably won't have mine, those suckers are huge).

I'd like to get good recommendations (or tours!) on places to explore, and to learn about local culture. I would like to learn about agriculture, gardening, and permaculture.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Great stories, music, laughter, tasty food, late night chats, memories, hugs

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Mexico

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristen’s full profile. It’s free!