Kristine  and Stephen's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristine’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Zookeeper
  • Partial Bachelors of Science in Environmental Education
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

About Kristine:
My name is Kristine, I'm 22 years old, and I am a fun-loving, new experience junkie! I'm young so I'm just starting to get a base income to start some traveling ventures with my other half Stephen. We have been together 6 years and intend to travel as much as humanly possible in our lifetime together. We go to a laid back, environmentally-conscience school that has made the both of us just as aware. We both do our best to be mindful of our surroundings while really getting in touch with culture and natural surroundings.

About Stephen:
My name's Stephen, I'm also 21 years old, and I am the second youngest of twelve siblings. As such, I come from a huge family with lots of children (I have 32 nieces and nephews at this point, and it's still growing)! I love to travel and experience new places, environments, and cultures, and I'm only interested in the candid experience of travel -- not the "pay as much money as you can for a misconstrued and overdeveloped luxurious paradise" experience. I want the true life and true paradise. I believe that the hardest thing to do is to simplify your life, and that travelling is the best teacher the world can offer. Happiness is your own to make.

About us: We've been together for over 7 years! We started young, but our relationship has grown into something much, much more since then. We both grew up in upstate New York, where farms, temperate forests, mountains, rivers, and valleys dominate the landscapes. We're both going to university to improve our world and help it heal as we face continually degraded environments all around the planet. We've both had our triumphs and tribulations, but we're both just looking to get the most out of our short lives and be the happiest people we can be. We're looking to have honest fun and make friendships wherever our lives bring us.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

As young, adventurous, organic, and lively college students, we don't believe in supporting things like hotel chains by spending money on overpriced bedrooms, nor can we afford it. We also are looking to get original experiences, not the purported ones you see advertised everywhere. We also want to connect with like-minded people from different backgrounds and experiences. What's life without friends and stories!

Interests

Kristine: Anything that has to do with animals and conservation, music, movies, culture, hiking and travel.

Stephen: New and old landscapes, plants, fungi, good music, listening to stories, cultures, hiking, self-exploration, observation.

  • animals
  • culture
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • teaching
  • rivers
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music- We both enjoy a huge variety of genres, but definitely enjoy Jack Johnson, Blink-182, and the Dirty Heads.
Movies- Anything with Jim Carrey, Drama, Mystery, Comedy, Documentaries, and more! Anything that'll capture the imagination!
Books- All time favorite is The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls (It's a wonderfully inspiring read!)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Kristine: I've interned at a zoo local to me and have been lucky enough to actually be offered a zookeeping position! I've worked with sloths, patas monkeys, siamangs, lemurs, alpacas, goats, pigs, and an owl!

Stephen: I've spent a couple days with the indigenous Lacandon Mayans learning about their agroforestry systems and culture!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach a little about what it's like to be an upstate New Yorker, not many see past New York City, but there's definitely a lot to learn!

Learn- Anything anyone is willing to teach.

Share- Laughs, stories, memories, and good times!

What I Can Share with Hosts

We are courteous people who are willing to learn and help out! We look for good friends and good times!

Countries I’ve Visited

Italy, Mexico, South Africa

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristine’s full profile. It’s free!