Kristine Meldal's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristine’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Danish, English, German; learning Italian
  • 42, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • working as a school teacher
  • teacher college
  • From Copenhagen
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To be open minded, honest and unpredudice to the people I meet on my way - to be gentle to myself and to others - to love and be loved

ABOUT ME

I'm curious and interested - in a lot of things! I'm "here and now" and get engaged easily. I'm both happy and open most of the time - but also needs solitude and peacefulness.
I live a steady life with work and sport and friends and travels in my school holidays at the moment - but would also love at some point to give it up for a while to travel and see more of the world and to live a more simple life from day to day. One day...

Update Dec. 2014: Ive now taken time off to explore the world and will travel Australia and New Zealand from mid January 2015 for some months. Im so excited to explore this "new world" of opportunities, new friends and beautiful landscapes..

Update May 2015: Now back from amazingly beautiful New Zealand and now in Italy trying to learn to speak Italian. Its not going very well at the moment. One day... :)

Update June 2016: Back in my normal everyday life with work at the school etc. BUT also now with a lovely boyfriend Italian Michele, who I met in New Zealand through Couchsurfing! We should send a thank you note to the Couchsurfing staff for giving us the opportunity to meet :)
We are both open and happy to meet new people.

Michele has lived in Copenhagen one year now and has started up his own street food business "Bike and Bake" baking pizzas in a wood fired pizza oven on a bicycle!
You can see his CS profile here: https://www.couchsurfing.com/people/michelelucarelli

And his Facebook page here:
https://www.facebook.com/bikeandbakecopenhagen/

Feel free to stop by for a pizza if you are in Copenhagen!

PHILOSOPHY

I try to do my best. That's the best I can do. I do what I can to act responsible toward people and the Earth. I think the Couchsurfing philosophy is brilliant. Imagine that everyone could and would open their homes and their lifes to all fellow citizens - and get trust and respect back again. What a revolution.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm excited to experience this site and to get to know other CouchSurfers. I would love to participate by treating other CouchSurfers with respect and by showing visitors my city, Copenhagen, which I know very well. All the hidden corners and all the magic spots. In my future travels I would love to meet up with or stay with other CouchSurfers and get to know their culture, their city and area and their way of thinking. I think its a brilliant way of getting under the skin of a country and a culture.

I have a two room apartment - I sleep in one room, you can sleep in the other. You can sleep on the couch or at the floor at a mat. I expect you to bring your own sleeping bag and sheets - but I have something to borough if you forgot :)

I must admit Im not the perfect house wife and not a great chef - so don't expect fresh baked bread in the morning or fancy three course dinners at my place. But feel free to use the kitchen and fridge as you like! :)
Im usually busy at daytime during the weekdays because of my job but sometimes have late afternoons and/or nights and weekends to show around etc. if you would want that. Or I can advice you on things to do and see on your own.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My experience: Ive already had some amazing experiences with Couchsurfing and Couchsurfers staying with me: A sweet and inspiring guy from London researching for his new book about the Danish philosopher Kierkegaard, a wonderful (and pregnant!) couple from New Zealand who I had so many good talks and laughs with, dinner and chat with a warm French couple at a Danish restaurant serving the "new nordic" cuisine, a British painter and yoga teacher who wanted to see and feel if Copenhagen really was as great as he heard it was - he was convinced! And moved here and rented a room in my apartment for a year :)

Im excited about this site and how all these meetings make my world bigger - and my heart the same. Thank you!

Interests

I love music! I listen a lot, go to concerts a lot and I'm curious about new bands and new kinds of music. I would love to play and sing myself. But so far the guitar is hanging on the wall... But hey, true listening with an open heart is also an art! :)

I also enjoy using my body. I swim some, run some, love hiking and trekking and I like doing yoga and dancing (tango, 5 rhythms and just free dancing as if nobody's watching :)
In general I like being active and using my body. Doing sports, enjoying outdoor life and travelling all at the same time makes me very happy! I know and Im amazed by how much body and mind are connected and Im interested to know more about that - by feeling it and by studying it.

I enjoy going for looong walks, in the forest, by the beach, in the mountains or in the city and both in my everyday life in Copenhagen and on my travels around the world. Walking clears my mind, it makes me relax and I love exploring both areas that are new to me and the paths Ive walked again and again.

I enjoy outdoor life, sitting in the sun in beautiful and peaceful surroundings makes me very happy and grateful. I do my best to take care of and protect the environment. It means a lot to me that I do the best that I can to act responsible towards the earth.
I love meeting new people and I feel very open minded. I like the random meetings with people, in the supermarket, in the bus, at the swimming pool.. where ever. It makes me happy to meet a stranger and have some sort of contact - literally or mentally - for short or for long.

  • arts
  • culture
  • books
  • singing
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • tango
  • environment
  • yoga
  • running
  • walking
  • partying
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • billiards
  • bouldering
  • magic
  • music
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • sports
  • boxing
  • swimming
  • teaching
  • philosophy
  • beaches
  • mountains
  • sustainability
  • relaxing
  • enjoying

Music, Movies, and Books

Black Swan, Babel, Der Himmel über Berlin/Wings of sky, documentary, nature films, indie music, electronical, Sigur Ros, Radiohead, Nils Frahm!, The tallest man on earth, Bon Iver, Ray Lamontagne and a live concert with Tori Amos (just to mention a few of the many that I like), classical, folk, country, maps, cookbooks, photo books, biographies, landscape photography and painting, children books, encyclopaedias - you name it. As long as it's good!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Right now: The Rocky Mountains! And just mountains in general: Italy, France, Austria. Im totally in love with mountains! Ive recently been in Boulder, Colorado and I really love the hippie atmosphere there. It makes me feel like being home..

Teach, Learn, Share

This is a great box! CouchSurfing University - University of Life. What a great thought. Learning is so much more than school. I wish I had a pracitical skill that I could contribute with. Unfortunately I haven't. But I would love to learn - to play the guitar, to build a wooden house, to dive for treasures, to create a lush garden, to repair a bicycle, to speak Italian..
The best I can contribute with is my open mind and my way of meeting new people. I can also present you to Danish music, that Im sure you've never heard of before, and I can show you hidden corners of my city.
As a teacher Im very interested in learning styles and teaching methods and about society in general so I can tell you about the Danish school system.. if you should be interested :) And when travelling I would love to learn about your culture and mentality, your school system, your nature and art form, etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I think I'm a grateful and humble visitor. I really want to show respect for your house and for the fact that you show me the trust of opening your door to me. Im not a heavy party type, but more like a peaceful chat with both few and many others. I feel very independent and also enjoy exploring a new place alone as well as I enjoy exploring with a host. But I don't expect you to spend all of your time with me - I respect that you have your life and your things to do.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, England, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, India, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Morocco, Nepal, New Zealand, Norway, Scotland, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristine’s full profile. It’s free!