Logo orange

Kristy

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 14 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • French teacher
  • Bachelor of Arts in 2nd languages, a...
  • From Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
To participate in Ottawa events, get in shape for the summer, save money, and plan my trip to Europe with my friend Madyson! https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/2000158489
We are looking for cs hosts in a bunch of places - let us know if you can host us, or hang out if we are in your city! From June-August, we will be in:
Dublin, Edinburgh, London, Amsterdam, Brussels, Paris, Barcelona, Madrid, South of France, Greek Islands, Switzerland, Croatia, Munich, Berlin! :)

To better understand me: http://www.ohshetravels.com
My Australia blog
http://www.frommelbournewithlovex.wordpress.com

To save money to go to Europe this summer!!...as well as make new friends both local and international. Love networking!

ABOUT ME

Im a 26 year old Canadian teacher. I lived in Australia for a year and I've since been doing the "work" thing while scheming trips to anywhere pretty much every other day. I'm trying to save money for Europe but I have so many places I want to see while I'm still young.

I recently moved downtown Ottawa and I love it. I grew up in the country though, so im very happy camping, kayaking, hiking, and enjoy the odd moment of solitude. I want to become more active in surfing and hosting. I like live music, heading out for dinner, the outdoors, board games, learning from other people and trying new things. I can speak French, love writing, rock at flip cup and aim to always smile :)

I would say I'm pretty bubbly, friendly, willing to try new things, etc etc. Don't be afraid to say hi!

PHILOSOPHY
This somes it up well : http://ohshetravels.com/2015/05/18/life-lessons-learned-what-i-know-so-far-an-essay/
-------

Toughie.
After a year down under, I would say that you really only get one shot at life and you have to make the best decisions for yourself. Travel is opening up my eyes to everything. How much is out there. The amazing experiences waiting to be had, and miracles waiting to happen. I have to go home soon to make some money again, but know it's only the beginning.

Live a life without regrets. Dare, dream, discover.
Carpe diem and all that jazz :)

Treat others as you wish to be treated. Spread good karma!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I had my first surf experience in Australia, and it was the most unique thing I EVER DID. I rave about my experiences in Australia. I went to a lot of events too. Now I spread the word in Ottawa, go to events, and I'm trying to host a few as well. I'd like to get to a point where I can host people, but for now I'm still a surfer!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Meeting people at events, surfing a few times, and meeting awesome newbies in Melbourne to show them the ropes. Now back in Ottawa, I go to events when I can, and recently hosted a board games night. WOO! I love meeting surfers passing through.

** I will say, please... if you decline someone's surfing request, please let them know why. I find it sad when you take time to send someone a really thoughtful request and they decline with no follow up. Even just saying you're busy is nicer than nothing!** :)

Interests

Music, comedy, going out to new bars and restaurants, lanaguages, kayaking, hiking, travel, cooking, the outdoors, blogging, reading and writing.

Current blog for Europe: http://www.ohshetravels.com

Music, Movies & Books

Harry Potter, once upon a time

Mitch Albom

Nicholas Sparks

Movies: Crash, PS I love you, uhh... ask me later :)

Music: EVERYTHING. From skrillex to avalanche city, ben howard, bon iver, kathleen edwards, foo fighters, coldplay, irish and instrumental music, paper kites... most indie, folk, rock, etc.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Hiking in BC and Alberta was pretty phenomenal.The outback tour and Fraser Island were unreal, and I love tasmanias east coast.
Snorkeling the Great Barrier reef
camping in the outback under the stars
skydiving!
Hang gliding july 2015!!
Going to see fireworks under eiffel tower Bastille day 2015 :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a mad baker
I like jogging
I can teach you french :)
We can have a poetry or writing session?

What I Can Share With Hosts

My love of poetry
My excitement for all things big and small
wonderful conversation
Poutine - you need to try it

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, England, France, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Scotland, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile