Kristyna B.'s Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 57% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristyna’s full profile.

Overview

  • 56 references 48 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, French, Spanish; learning Dutch, Hungarian, Polish, Russian
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Entrepreneuse/ teacher/ tattoo artist
  • a bit of college
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

DISCLAIMER FOR THE ALLERGIC - WE HAVE TWO CATS AND A 9 MONTHS OLD BABY. PLEASE MENTION IN YOUR REQUEST THAT YOU HAVE READ THIS.

I was born in the Czech Republic, but I've been moving around for about 15 years now. I am currently based in Xalapa, where I am living with my husband Salvador (and the aforementioned baby and cats), running our small language school and climbing mountains and discovering Americas in our free time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing’s great. The question should be more like why one wouldn’t be on Couchsurfing. :) I guess I’ve been lucky, as the majority of my hosts and guests have been absolutely amazing and we've actually become good friends with several people I've met here. I also remember staying at some pretty boring places, but having a great time just because the people who were hosting me were really interesting. ..or turning a regular weekend into a truly memorable one by sharing it with some travellers.

Interests

I have a lot of interests. I think the ones I spend the most time on are biking, hiking, krav maga, cooking weird dishes from strange countries, reading and drinking wine (usually in this order :)
I also really like outdoor activities and spending time in the nature, especially mountains (but also anywhere where there is water and you can go swimming or surfing), so I spend a lot of time hiking, mountain and rock climbing, skiing and going on loooong camping trips. When at home, I’m usually doing something in my garden, as I like growing things and I’m interested in everything related to permaculture, sustainable lifestyle and stuff like that.

I am not much of a party animal and I usually prefer having a dinner and/or drinks with friends at home, but especially when there is live music, or some interesting cultural event, I enjoy going out and doing some bar-hopping too.

  • concerts
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • languages
  • mountains
  • permaculture
  • krav maga

Music, Movies, and Books

As for films and books, even a super-short list of my favorites wouldn’t fit here…

Regarding music, my favorite bands are not of the kind that most normal people know :), but let’s say my all-time favourites are punk, rock, ethnic, Balkan, gypsy and all kinds of weird Eastern European music. I also like reggae, metal, classical music and some kinds of jazz.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have experienced a lot of things that I personally consider amazing, but for a CS profile I guess the most relevant could be a several months long hitchhiking/backpacking trip from Ushuaia to Asuncion.

Countries I’ve Visited

Algeria, Andorra, Argentina, Belarus, Belize, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Egypt, England, Finland, Gambia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Luxembourg, Mexico, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristyna’s full profile.