Logo orange

Kristine Kruszelnicki

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristine's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 22 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, French
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Freelance writer, birth doula, whate...
  • The Universe is my University
  • From Ottawa, Ontario
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see, do, learn as much as possible... and to dance in every city I can.

ABOUT ME

I'm an outgoing art-loving "granola" type. My biggest passions are writing, photography and above all: dance. I believe in communal living and that another world is possible, so long as we don't all resign ourselves to being a slave of the corporate world and the elites who run it. I love meeting new people and being engaged in intellectually stimulating conversation, and I don't shy away from even the hottest topics.

I suffer from MCS (Multiple Chemical Sensitivities) which means that perfumes, chemical cleaners, dryer sheets - anything with an artificial base to it, including artificial colours and flavours will make me sick. I try not to let that hold me back from doing the things I love, including traveling and meeting new people... but if you're addicted to Bounce and Axe Body spray, I probably wouldn't do well at your place, unless the ventilation is excellent.

Visit my Facebook page for more about me, it's public (Kristine Kruszelnicki)... and if you add me, tell me you saw my profile here - I like to know where my stalkers are coming from. :)

PHILOSOPHY

Learn, Love, Live.

Seek the Truth always in all ways.

The homeless are my family, and strangers are my friends.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've loved my surfing experiences to date, and I can't wait to have a place of my own so I can have the pleasure of hosting my own guests.

In the meantime, I'll definitely be up to a coffee meet-up. I've gone to a few local meetups and road-trips with CS'ers (including a two-day trip to Mexico!) I've been traveling since I joined CS but here or there, let's hang out.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I'm a lindy-hop dancer, which means I'm accustomed to dancing in different cities and sleeping on floors, couches, or beds of people I barely know. couchsurfing.com has expanded my travel and couch surfing horizons beyond the lindy community.

I'm able to sleep just about anywhere: under kitchen tables, behind couches (between the couch and the wall - she had to hide me from roommates), in driveways, in an open-air parking garage... just about any sleeping surface. I'm allergic to perfumes, but other than that... if I can breathe well I'm happy.

And I love to cuddle!

Interests

Dance, photography, writing, learning, natural health, organics, Facebook and other social interaction network sites... I also tend to collect recipes like they're Pokemons.

Music, Movies & Books

My favourite movie is "The Party" with Peter Sellers.

I recently watched "The Visitor" and it really opened my eyes to the plight of illegal immigrants. (As did living 6 months in the U.S. without opportunity to work)

I'm a documentary junkie (http://topdocumentaryfilms.com/ :)

My favourite book is by far "The Irresistible Revolution" by Shane Claiborne. Read it and you'll understand why.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I've won a writing award that beat out veteran writers who have a journalism degree under their belts.

I've seen the grand canyon - most impressive natural site I've ever seen!

I've flown in a hot air balloon several times (my dad was a professional pilot)

I've been to BURNING MAN! (2010)

* Yes I know that's 4 - but the currency exchange rate makes our numbers count for less ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

As mentioned, I'm a swing dancer. I love to lindy-hop and charleston in particular, and would happily teach you a few basic moves.

Always willing to learn a new skill or information. Would love to learn to play the jimbe and improve my guitar skills.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Mexico, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Kristine's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile