J Kruczynski

Lyman, SC, United States

Accepting Guests

  • 50% response rate
  • Last login about 17 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see J’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Office Manager who needs something new during the day
  • Life
  • From Athens, GA , USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Plans are small prayers made to father time


So I've always had a bit of wanderlust. My parents took us on road trips as a child and I've been to 48 states. Anyone wanna go to Hawaii or Maine? =)

I grew up all over north Georgia, but consider Athens, GA my hometown. I have one sister who still lives there and my parents near Greenville, SC.

I have been in NYC just over three years now so I know my way around really well, but also still have a sense of wonder about a lot of things, so am happy to take surfers to "tourist spots" if they want to go!


Everything in Moderation including excess!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I try to host here in brooklyn.

Google Maps!

I do host a weekly meeting in here in Brooklyn which is a lot of fun and helps connect people.

If you want to stay with me please write something in your request that lets me know you read this. For bonus points write you favorite beer in the subject line!


I just began my official couchsurfing this one year ago with an awesome stay with my girl Dana in Philly.

Since then Couchsurfing has truly transformed my life in New York. From the amazing local community to the wonderful people who have slept on my couch or shared a beer with me my life will never be the same.
I am an addict =)


I'm very much an outdoorsy kind of guy despite living in the big city. I like the hike, backpack, go snowboarding, and just walk whenever I can in the city. I'm also a big bike rider and have a bike I can lend you one if you want to explore Brooklyn on bike with me!

I'm a bit of a beer snob so if you want to know where to find most any beer you want I can help you out with that as well.
I love eating out at holes in the wall and just finding new experinces in this city. For example if you come on a Saturday we can go for a brewery tour that is quite excellent!
I also enjoy ultimate frisbee and hanging out at the park.

I'm also big into concerts and would love to go to a show with anyone.

Music, Movies, and Books

Pan's Labyrinth
Dead Poet's Society
Fight Club

The Practical Nomad is a must read!
Love John Irving

Wow, just realized I don't have any music listed!!
I'm a huge live music fan. I try to attend a concert at least once every 2 weeks, usuauly just small bands in small venues.

a small list now:

Damien Rice
Ani Difranco
Toad the Wet Sprocket / Glenn Phillips
Death Cab for Cutie (resisted it for a long time!)
The Postal Service
U2, REM, Pearl Jam, other early 90's stuff.
Jaymay .. www.myspace.com/jaymay (Fav local artist)
Soul Miner's Daughter
Jump Little Children
---by no way complete

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Year : 1997
Place : Denver, some night club
The scene : Mafia men standing at the bar watching the Columbian girls dance in tight red dresses while slides of men in Speedos flash on the wall.

Teach, Learn, Share

I play guitar and would happy to teach some basics though I'm not very good.
I just taught my friend to ride a bike.
I'm more than happy to teach someone snowboarding.
I would love to learn more about other cultures especially the middle east.

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    64 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see J’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups