Kumi Masunaga's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 94% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kumi’s full profile.


  • 6 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Japanese; learning Yue (Cantonese)
  • 59, Female
  • Member since 2023
  • Musician, drum circle facilitator
  • Life :)
  • From Tokyo, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a joy-affirming soul who works as a percussionist and drum circle facilitator. I am a native of Japan and have been based in Hong Kong for many years. I perform locally and internationally and love travelling to different places and meeting people. I live in the countryside of Hong Kong, near the beach and marshland where our village's wild water buffaloes roam around.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

My child has gone to uni in the States and their room (though small) is available so I have started hosting travellers. I am into gift economy, skillshare and community living. I also love travelling and I look forward to surfing (I am a new CS member.)


  • festivals
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • art
  • nature
  • spirituality
  • parties
  • dance
  • africa
  • waterfalls
  • national parks
  • jogging
  • gym
  • handmade
  • community
  • performance
  • wellness

Music, Movies, and Books

Many. I'll come back to this.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have taken numerous solo trips to several West African countries and had many amazing experiences there. I often think that everything in this world is pretty miraculous but if I have to choose one thing, that would be the conception, production and delivery of another human being and the fact that I had an opportunity to help that person grow. My child is now 19 and flew out of the nest to their new chapter to uni in the States (and I feel liberated!). :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I teach people how to be playful, get in the flow and connect with others through rhythm. I am a certified drum circle facilitator and trainer. I am currently expanding this and learning how to facilitate circle singing. I enjoy sharing stories, joy and homemade food!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am very easygoing. I can cook, clean, help in the garden or farm (if any), or play music for the hosts or their community. I can also share my travel stories/tips in Asia and Africa if the hosts are interested in those areas.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, England, France, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Malaysia, Senegal, Singapore, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Hong Kong, Japan

Join Couchsurfing to see Kumi’s full profile.

My Groups