Logo orange

Daniel Waugh

Frenchman Bay, Western Australia, Australia

Wants to Meet Up

Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 141 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • School Teacher / Nutritionist / Trav...
  • Bachelor Degrees
  • From Albany, Western Australia, Australia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

¨Not worrying about the potholes in the road and celebrating the journey.”

ABOUT ME

Hi my names Daniel, I am a 29 year old Australian on a mission to be Inspired & Decide What I Want from Life.

I travel, teach, learn, volunteer, experience, explore, adapt, stumble, stagger and Grow.

In 48 months on the road I have learned more about myself, people, places then all my years sitting stagnent at home.

Couchsurfing has become a huge part of my life and continuously enables me to interact with different people, cultures and places.

After 4 years of travelling I have finally started my own website to help others discover the wonderful world of travel:
http://justmovetravel.com

PHILOSOPHY

The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy then to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun. -Chris McCandless

One Life One Chance

Fewer Material Attachments Equals More Freedom

Travelling is the crash course of life

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have met, traveled & Stayed with many fellow Couchsurfers.
We have talked, laughed, cried, shared stories and developed everlasting bonds.
I have attended group gatherings, meet-ups and events. I have hosted fellow Couchsurfers and once I am settled more permanently I would like to take a more active role in the hosting side of couchsurfing.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have met a number of people around the world who after a very short period of time have invited me into their lifes, for this I am ever grateful!!

Couchsurfers I have found are the most diverse, interesting and open-minded people on earth and for every experience I grow as a human being.

Most Wonderful & Unique Experience (also my first surfing experience):
Essaouira/Morocco - Sleeping in a "A fully furnished 2-man tent on a rooftop" (Thankyou Ranya)

Interests

I Love keeping fit whether it be hiking, climbing, surfing or any adventure sports.

During my younger days I was obsessed with motorcycles and fast cars and I love anything Motorsport related - specially FMX, Enduro racing and Drag racing.

I am certainly a morning person and you may find me up with the sun doing Hatha Yoga and my morning exercises.
Having said that I also like the Night as that is when the interesting ones come out :)

FOOD FOOD FOOD I have a passion for cooking -specially with local, fresh, unique and wholesome ingredients.
I love learning about a new place, people and culture through sampling their culinary delights and then learning to fabricate them myself.

Cooking the World Project: http://justmovetravel.com/invite-me-over/

My Favourites dishes so far:

Morocco: TAGINE, BERBER OMELLETTE

Spain: PULPO A LA GALLEGA, tortilla de patata

France: Osso Bucco, Ratatouille

Portugal: Francesinha

Belgium: Chickpea Burgers, Peanut Butter Hummus

Sweden: Tofu Lasagna

Russia: Borsh

China: Hot Pot

Taiwan: seafood stirfrys, Lion Head Meatballs, Oyster pancakes

Thailand: Pappaya Salad, Tom Yung Soup

Philipines: Chicken Adobo, Bicol Express,

Colombia: Bandeja Paisa, Arepa's, Guacamole

Peru: Lomo Saltado, Peruvian Cebiche

Bolivia: Sopa de Mani, Chicharon

Chile: Pastel del Choclo, Curanto, Cazuela and Humitus.

Argentina: Asado, Costillas de cerdo a la riojan, Morcilla de Vaca

Urugauy: Pascualina

Paraguay: Chipa Guasu

Brazil: Feijoada, Acai

French Guiana: Shrimp & Coconut Milk

El Salvador: Pupuza

Mexico: Mole, Tamales, Tlayudas, Enmoladas

SWEETS - I have a terrible sweet tooth and wherever I go - I hunt out the best chocolates, sweets and sugary treats:
The List so Far:

Uruguay: Garrapiñada

Chile: Pan de Pascua

Argentina: alfajores, dolce de Leche, Mantecole, dulce de batata

Brazil: Acai, Cocada, Pacoca, Quindim,

Suriname: Tiki Tiki, Dawet

El Salvador: Horchata & Comote

Guatemala: Atole

Mexcio: Pozol, Cacao

WINE - I love a nice Red Wine: anything from Merlots to Pinot Noirs - Specially Australian, Argentinian, Spanish, French & Italian bottles.

I love adventure and new things, meeting new people and sharing great experiences.

Music, Movies & Books

The Alchemist
1000 Words
Jay Edgar
Shutter Island
The Great Gatsby
The Pilgrimage
A New Earth
On The Road
The Da Vinci Code
Fear & Loathing in Las Vegas
The Bucket List
Into The Wild
All Gone Pete Tong
The Beach
7 Years in Tibet
John Carter
The Wolf of Wall Street
Secret Life of Walter Mitty
The Big Lebrowski
Get him to the Greek
Point Break
One week
Her
Last Vegas
Eat, Prey, Love
Siddhartha
Jonathan Livingston Seagull
The Travellers Gift
The Celestine Prophecy
The Little Prince

Game of Thrones
Breaking Bad
Amazing Race

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Visited Gallipoli to pay tribute to those Australians who served, suffered and died for our freedom.

Competed in Australian Natural Bodybuilding Competition

Built a Nissan Skyline R32 Gtr Godzilla from the ground up

Walked the Camino de Santiago

Ran with the Bulls in Pamplona

Climbed Mt Toubkal - 4167m

Climbed MachuPichu Mountain

Climbed Huayna Potosi - 6088m

Lived & Worked on the most remote Island in the world RapaNui

Hiked the 8 day 'O' Circuit Torres del Paine

Attended and Ayahuasca Ceremony in Amazonia

Witnessed Leather-back turtles nesting on beaches of Cayenne

Climbed Mount Roraima 2810m Tepuy over 6 days - Venezuela

Visited Angel Falls - the world's highest uninterrupted waterfall, with a height of 979 m

Obtained my Open Water Dive Acreditation - Utila - Honduras

Hridaya Hatha Yoga & Mediation Ashram School - Guatemala

visited 63 states (28%)Create your own visited map of The World or Amsterdam travel guide for Android

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a Primary School Teacher by occupation and so I am very good at listening and picking up on things.

I have a facination with Nutrition, health and fitness and am happy to share all I know and have experienced.
I practise Hridaya Hatha Yoga and Meditation and would love to share this with you all sometime.

I am really Passionate about food and nutrition and I will talk your ear off about it if you will let me.
I have recently discovered Ayuverdic Medicine and Lifestyle and hope to study this more in the future.

I have been compiling cooking recipes from around the world for 3 years now - so please please if you have a special family recipe for a unique food to your country or city please share with me :)

Cooking the World Project: http://justmovetravel.com/invite-me-over/

I can teach you how to cook some very typical Aussie food.

I can convince you its a good idea to do a handstand in ridiculous and public places.

I can show you how to travel endlessley, on a very small budget and with a huge focus on cultural exchange.

I can show you how travelling with just one small bag (20l) has allowed me the ultimate freedom with travel.

And most importantly hopefully I can show you what a wonderful world we live in!

What I Can Share With Hosts

A listening ear
A helping hand
A bunch of stories
A fresh look on things
A delicious meal
A yoga lesson
A friend for life
and Love & Light

Countries I've Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, French Guiana, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Venezuela

Countries I've Lived In

Albania, Australia, Greece, Malaysia, Peru, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile