Logo orange

Kylie.A.Smith

London, London, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 18 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kylie.A.Smith's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 13 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Social Work/Student
  • BA Social Work/Arts (Aboriginal Stud...
  • From Sydney
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Wonder While Wandering

ABOUT ME

Fun loving Aussie Chica looking to make friends across the world whilst experiencing and learning from simply being and doing.

Currently I am living in London UK. I am here for work experience, life experience and to be closer to Europe. Prior to London I had been travelling for 11.5months. I travelled and couched across the US, Mexico, and central America. Part of my Central American leg I spent living and volunteering Guatemala for 3.5 months. An experience that has left footprints on my heart :D

I like to think of myself as a fun loving, no fuss, carefree kind of girl. I love the outdoors adventure and anything extreme really. Always looking for ways to further develop and grow through my experiences shared with others and through culture.

I am an a honest/wear my heart on my sleeve kind of person, I am open minded and a bit of a free spirit - student of life!

I like hanging out with interesting people, having fun and a good laugh. If you want to know more host me or come travel with me :)

PHILOSOPHY

Let the floating particles lay where they may and wait for the next collision to happen.

.....................................................................
Just a little something extra by Martha Medeiros

You start dying slowly
if you do not travel,
if you do not read,
If you do not listen to the sounds of life,
If you do not appreciate yourself.

You start dying slowly
When you kill your self-esteem;
When you do not let others help you.

You start dying slowly
If you become a slave of your habits,
Walking everyday on the same path.
If you do not change your routine,
If you do not wear different colours
Or you do not speak to those you don't know.

You start dying slowly
If you avoid to feel passion
And their turbulent emotions;
Those which make your eyes glisten
And your heart beat fast.

You start dying slowly
If you do not change your life
when you are not satisfied with your job, or with your love,
If you do not risk what is safe for the uncertain,
If you do not go after a dream,
If you do not allow yourself,
At least once in your lifetime,
To run away from sensible advice…

<3

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My experience the past two years on CS has been mainly one of exchange. Initially my experiences through CS started off with spending time meeting people for company to do hikes and/or language exchange. I have hitch hiked once via CS for a good 15days and have been fortunate to make lifelong friends along the way through this whole CS trip. It's only in the past 8 months I've started staying at peoples places.

I've been asked many times why I bother with this site and not just stay in hostels. On occasion I do stay in hostels and I also use Airbnb. However, I love that CS gives you an opportunity to meet local people and gain local knowledge and experience from your hosts. Whereas a hostel is usually run by an expat and full of travellers and where I feel my experiences can at times be reduced by wanting to meet everyone (non-locals) and party. Don't get me wrong I love meeting people and partying but with a limited time in some places you just want to fly solo or with a small group of like minded people and experience life outside of the hostel and the bars. And Yes there is the point about not having that expected monetary exchange but as a personal preference I like to make my guests a meal, do some shopping or buy a small gift to show my appreciation. I know hosting people is not cheap and I respect that.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have had various experiences and in particular over the the past 15months since I left home. These experiences include: hitching/sharing rides; sleeping on couches/hammocks/in tents in backyards/in a fire station/and other cool places; language exchange and/or simply meeting people to hang out with, explore/share experiences, share language and knowledge with.

CS has enriched my life so much, I'm addicted to it! Just as much as I am addicted to travel :D

Interests

Outdoors, hiking, camping, diving, photography, Music (keeps me energised and sane), Film (all sorts), Arts (most), Animals, AdVeNtUrE, anything physical, fun and Xtreme! I love motor bikes and have dabbled in a bit of Krav Maga for 8months which I miss so much - it kept me fit and I felt a sense of security know I may be able to protect myself if I need to.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: I honestly like anything I can move to, it all depends on my mood. Music of all kinds can either remind me of a place, experience or person and/or definitely take me there.

Movies: anything from Home grown/Independent Movies, Comedy (especially anything that near makes me wee my pants), scarrrry movies (although I watch them with most of my eyes and face covered the adrenaline is such a thrill. Actually I like all kind of movies :D

Books: I've only really taken a shine to reading more in my old age and seeing as I am not studying anymore or forced to read. No particular favourite authors but I enjoy real life stories/autobiographies, action/adventure, drama, travel history :/

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Bungy Jumping & Canyon Swing (NZ), Cage of Death (Darwin), Kokoda Track (PNG), Shark Dive Extreme Experience (Sydney), Diving various places in the Caribbean (Mexico, Belize, Honduras, Nicaragua & Sevultura Canopy (Costa Rica).

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you:
- about Aboriginal Australian history and culture
- basic salsa
- basic spanish

I'd love to learn:
- to dance advance salsa, basic rock & swing
- basic Photoshop & Video Editing

I'd love to:
- share recipes
- share my travelling stories and experiences and hear about yours!

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belize, Cambodia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Papua New Guinea, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Guatemala, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Kylie.A.Smith's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile