Maria GP's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.

Overview

  • 44 references 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Portuguese
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • traveller
  • life, curiosity, university
  • From Putbus, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

being open-minded and experience the world

ABOUT ME

love traveling and getting in touch with people from different cultures

PHILOSOPHY

I won evolutionary lottery :-)

It is the same life, whether we spend it crying or laughing

Everything I need, I carry within me already

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host people from hopefully all over the world, show them around and get to know to them. What I enjoy most are the different personalities and cultures of my fellow CS. Taking part in and organising events:
Attended the famous: * 20.03.09 One Million Member Party in Kuala Lumpur * 2009 CS Meetings in Kuala Lumpur and Mainz * 2009 Berlin Beach Camp + Rhein-Main-River-CS-Camp * 2011 Happy Strasb' Hours * 2014/2015 CS Meetings in Madrid * 2015 CS Wintercamp in Sofia/ Bulgaria
I organised: * 2009 PotLuck Dinner in Mainz * 2010 CS Meetings in Flensburg * 2012 CS Meetings in Esslingen
*** A long break of Couchsurfing ***
2022: active again :)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I enjoy every time!

I hosted:Laura (Portugal), Jack (USA, non-CS), John (Aruba), Felix (Canada), Sandrine (Holland), Elsa + Jul (France), Pyry (Finland), Ricky (USA), Miro (Bulgaria), Intan (Malaysia :) ), Dominique (Egypt), Arno (Germany), Jason (USA), Sampsa (Finland) + friends (Finland, 2*France), Gill (Israel), Agata + Mateus (Poland), Malin + Johannes (Germany), Amii (Taiwan), Elina + Kirsi (Finnland)

I surfed:Maxime (Paris, France; non-CS), Tanik (Nice, France, non-CS), Emilia (Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia), Sing (Bangkok, Thailand), Omar (Melacca, Malaysia, non-CS), Kian (Kota Kinabalu(Borneo), Malaysia), Caspar (Berlin Beach Camp, once i`ll meet you guy :) ), Arno (CS Meeting Mainz), Massimo (Cagliari(Sardinia), Italy), Theresa (Cologne, Germany), Elisa (Luxembourg), Erich (Munich, Germany), Amit (New Delhi, India), Jino (Falkenthal, Germany), Pascal (Strasbourg, France), Fernando (Venice, Italy), Francesco (Bologna, Italy), Jakob (Vienna, Austria), Willian (Bonito, Brazil), Dea (Recife, Brazil), Danny (Stuttgart, Germany)

I cosurfed with:Theresa (Germany), Gavin (England), Wolf (USA), Magnus (Germany), Marcus (Austria), Ingre (Estonia), Lidia (Poland), Dominique (Egypt)and again and again, Sara (Mexico), Sampsa (Finland), Erik (Germany), Jino (India), Dirk (Germany), Sharavan (India), Danielle+ Christoph (Switzerland), Jurek (Germany), Elif (Turkey)

I met+showed around: Sinan (Turkey), Arielle (USA), Imran (Pakistan), Alexis (Germany), Lorenzo (Italy, even if he knew Jena better ;-) )

People who met me and showed me around/ Hangouts: Wayne (in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia), Munawar (in Georgetown(Penang), Malaysia), Peter (in Singapore), Ingre (in Berlin, Germany), Talley (in Wiesbaden, Germany), Markus (in Luxembourg), Rohit (in Kalkutta, India); Malik, Nordin, Elkin (in Paris, France), Ronnie (in Auckland, NZ)

Interests

having party all the night, loosing my mind while dancing to music, hiking in nationalparks, discovering nature places, trying all kinds of sports, visiting museums, immersing myself in art, and lie around a whole day at the beach enjoying life while talking about the world, reading books, listening to music, enjoying international food and great coffee... a lot of things

  • arts
  • dancing
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • reading
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • nature
  • foodie
  • meeting new people
  • science and technology
  • sunsets and sunrises

Music, Movies, and Books

books... I love reading!!
music and movies... have the worst memory ever and can't remember any artists and titles... I take the music of my brother (Rock) and friends (everything mixed), listen to it when I feel like that... additional: Salsa, Tango (I love dancing), Classic (occasionally) and Electro/Techno (for party mood!!! and dancing)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The world is filled with so much beauty and I enjoy being alive so much, only one thing to name is impossible
___________

Fulfilling one of my life dreams - a Sabbatical - 1 year traveling South America with a camper

Hiking along the Aurlandsdalen in Norway for 3days, going from the glaciers, over snowfields (-x degree in August), crossing waterfalls, along the most beautiful valley, until arriving at the fjord together.Incredible!

I visited the Iguacu Falls in Brazil and Argentinia and am still stunned - incredible, powerfull nature!

A 2days hike through Lencois Maharensis amazed me. The moment that sticks in my head: camping between the dunas and waking up at night when the moon was enlighting the endless white dunes, a sea of sand.

Celebrating carnival in Rio!

With my friend Theresa I went to Hampi, India. We spend some awesome days between the ancient ruins, feeling like explorers in this breathtaking nature.

Crossing together with a friend the Gosainkunda Pass in Nepal (4300m), completely on our own.

I dived at Sipadan Island and saw Barracuda shoals, turtles, sharks and thousends of rainbow coloured coral fishs. MARVELLOUS
----------------------------------------------------
Within the first ten minutes after I moved out of my flat in KL (I was on my way to travel my first time alone) a bag-snatcher on a motorbike stole my purse. Everything was inside- my camera, my diary, money, credit card... And then I started to run screaming behind him, he decided to ride to the other side of the street. He had to climb a small step to get there... and he lost my purse. When he rode a circle to get it back I was faster and reached there before him- so he left. That was the most amazing feeling of my life!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some German (of course ;-) ) and English. And I started juggeling with three balls. Most of the time they are in the air- so I can show you how that works. I would be glad if you can show me some more tricks.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I love the Couchsurfing spirit and life itself, let's start from there. When I visit my friends, I make sure that their life is a bit better when I'm visiting then not. I treat my CS friends the same

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Italy, Jordan, Laos, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Malaysia, Spain

Old School Badges

  • 7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Maria’s full profile.

My Groups