Logo orange

Amy Mathis

Brooklyn, NY, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 7 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • art student
  • mfa
  • From Annandale, VA, USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

offering apartment for someone to watch my doggie!

ABOUT ME

Yay couchsurfing! It’s inspiring to see everyone creating their own, unique path to life!

I’ve lived my whole life in a big red house in the woods of suburban D.C. (in Northern Virginia), except when I lived on the rather isolated campus of University of Richmond, in Richmond, Virginia for four years. I have two younger brothers who are taller than me, plus my mom and dad. I went to one of the most diverse high schools in the nation where the majority of my classes were in trailers and our sports teams (The Annandale Atoms) sucked. I proceeded to attend one of the most homogenous universities in the nation where our school president thought we were “mush” and our sports teams (The Richmond Spiders) also sucked. Never underestimate the damage a poorly chosen mascot can do…

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

CS experience: Prague, Berlin, Andalucia (Spain)

Other than that, my experiences traveling started at an early age. My dad bought a family camper and insisted we go on family road trips every summer. So I traveled to almost all 50 states (and parts of Canada), except Alaska and Hawaii and all the boring ones, before reaching the age of 14. The first time I left the country was in the summer of 2007 when the whole mother’s side of my family decided to travel through Italy so my grandparents could see their homeland "one last time" (they're both still alive). In the fall of 2008 I studied abroad in Madrid with throngs of other Americans and fell in love with Spain. In the summer of 2009 I interned at an art gallery in Barcelona and lived recklessly. In October 2009, I received an e-mail about teaching English abroad in Spain, applied to the program, and was shipped off to my new home in October 2010.

Interests

making things! anything! I love visiting museums and galleries, meeting and talking with other artists, and doing my own projects.

Music, Movies & Books

Music: Talking Heads, Elvis, Beach Boys, Lady Gaga, M.I.A., Os Mutantes, Fleetwood Mac, Silver Jews blahblahblah

Movies: old movies and spanish movies, brownie points if they're old spanish movies

I like to read, but often can only get myself to read short things: odd news articles, art reviews, poetry, book chapters here and there. Not to say I haven’t read any big kid books. I like Kerouac’s The Dharma Bums, among others.

Countries I've Visited

France, Ireland, Netherlands

Countries I've Lived In

Spain, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Amy's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile