Laurence Hamelin's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laurence’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 84 References 65 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning German, Italian
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Copywriter
  • Screenwriting / Communications
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey! Salut! Well, this is awkward. Um, I'm Laurence, I'm 5'1", I wear mostly black because I get dirty all the time. I like writing, talking, beekeeping, cooking, eating, drinking coffee and/or beer, watching movies, and cycling - among other things!

Lately? Working freelance, writing screenplays (when I stop making myself espressos to procrastinate) and beekeeping/homesteading in the beautiful Québec countryside with my dearest baleze.

What else... Well, I'm fairly easygoing, quite curious and I like to make people laugh. Also, surprisingly, it seems like I'm getting better at managing my emotions with time, which is really convenient socially! I also like to spend most of my time listening to people cleverer than me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Is it a roof and a friend that you need? Yeah, I've been on those park benches before and I know they're not the most charismatic things. Knock at our door - only if you like cats though, because if you don't you're a bad person.

And if Philippe and I ever knock at your door (oh, we will) please let us in. We were well brought-up and won't shit in the plants, I swear.

I'm limited language-wise, but French, English, Spanish or Parseltongue should probably do it.


Back in the days, I couchsurfed around England, Scotland and Ireland, and also around Eastern-ish Europe. Most wonderful memories of those mostly solitary trips.

Also, that other wierdo baleze and I managed our way a couple years ago around Peru and Bolivia, based only on the people who looked cool and wanted us over; the diversity of hosts we had and their devotion was incredibly inspiring.

We cycled around Spain, France, Belgium and the Netherlands and couchsurfed everytime we could; I don't know if experience showed us a couple tricks, but we just had the awesomest hosts.

Last summer, I found two potential adoptive mothers for myself in Burghausen and Treviso. No like, for real.

Speaking of mothers, we've hosted the most amazing family of five lately in our small flat (hello, the Caudles!) and I kind of feel my ovaries getting all crazies. I'm not sure what to think of THAT.

Finally, we got to stay with amazing Chinese and expats hosts in China in June 2014, and it really made the whole trip much more acceptable in terms of mental health! China can be a bit overwhelming at times!


They change all the freakin' time, but here we go:

- Homesteading (bees and beepeeking, hunting deer, growing veggies and mushrooms, etc.)
- Drinking coffee/beer (I don't like wine!)
- DIY stuff in general (beerbeerciderbeer)
- Yoga and meditation
- Screenwriting
- Photography
- Cycling

  • cats
  • writing
  • design
  • photography
  • acting
  • diy
  • dining
  • triathlon
  • yoga
  • running
  • modeling
  • meditation
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • agriculture
  • business
  • entrepreneurship
  • freelancing
  • geography
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm not judging you if you did, but I think picking cultural faves is absolutely ridiculous for many reasons, so let's just talk about these things when we meet, alright?

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

- Being a part of the Rainbow/ San Pedro team back in the depth of the Moon Valley
- Not humiliating myself in a no-bathroom-twelve-hours-by-night-in-the-mountains-of-south-america bus ride
- Cycling 3700 km in two months and pedaling up the Pyrénées
- Cycling up the Grossglockner Road from Austria to Italy (what were we thinking?)

Teach, Learn, Share

Food. Anything about it. Food's pretty awesome and it grows everywhere at our place. Hopefully you also like food and also have the ability to eat it/prepare it.

Social entrepreneurship, urban agriculture, mental and physical health, spirituality. Let's talk!

Bees. Bees. Bees.

People and studying them is one of the things I like to do best. So there you go, you already know how much I'd like to meet you and study you share experiences.

Oh, and bees.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Are you kidding me? What is happening to the good ol' Couchsurfing vibe anyways?

I can offer both hosts AND guests nothing more or less than proper, interesting, genuine, heartfelt and desired human interaction. Hope that'll do.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, China, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Canada

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    18 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Laurence’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups