Lauren O'Neill's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile.

Overview

  • 56 references 39 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Student of Life
  • WCSU, United States and Thammasat University, Thailand
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

live life to the fullest and spend my days filled with adventure, meeting new people and hearing their stories.

ABOUT ME

I have a deep passion for understanding the world around me and how it works. I have a love for biology and all things nature and for humans and all things anthropology and psychology. I also have a true love for movement in all forms from dance, to sports, to yoga. My never-ending need to learn new things has brought me on adventures around the world and community has offered me so many unfathomable connections and learning opportunities throughout the world. I have been living the last 9 years since graduating university on a bit of a wander that has taken me across continents and on a spiritual journey, evoking self-discovery and deep awareness of myself and the impact I have on all the living things around me. It's been quite a wild ride and it’s always been magic.
I spent the last few years living in Colorado. I’m currently traveling to Asia.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is magic and gratitude is everything. I love to notice life's little things and the sense of satisfaction and wonder they can inspire. I truly believe that if I put my mind to something, I can do it. Humans have an incredible threshold and it really blows my mind what we as a species have been able to achieve. I have a deep appreciation for practice and patience and what these two things in combination can bring. I believe in following the heart and intuition and this has taken me on the most unfathomable journey. I try to consciously take in new experiences and be as open minded as in my capacity to everything, especially people, culture, and art.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

both host and traveller

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I couchsurfed for the first time in Colombo, Sri Lanka and hosted for the first time in Bangkok, Thailand back in 2012. Both great experiences. Spent summer 2012 CSing all over Australia and some of New Zealand. Summer of 2013, I hosted couchsurfers from all over the world at my apartment in Miami, Florida. It was a wonderful experience. Spent 8 months 2014-2015 backpacking South America using CSing and four months in 2015 roadtripping the United States. Spent 2017 csing all over India, Thailand, Borneo, the Maldives, and Europe.
This community has allowed me to meet some of the most incredible people, has totally changed my life and brought me experiences beyond my dreams. I can’t wait to offer space to others and return the favor all these years of traveling through CSing has gifted me 🙏 Looking to build out a sanctuary space in 2023-2024. Stay tuned!

Interests

Everything! Like literally, sometimes it's a problem having so many passions. Travel, culture, people, PLANTS, animals, the environment, adventure, photography, scuba diving, art (I love to paint and draw), music, reading/books, writing, working with children, poetry and the power of words, yoga, baking, swimming, hiking, camping, kayaking, education, movies, new experiences, biking, beaches, snowboarding, sports, jewelry making, rock climbing, science, geology, space, mineralogy, gardening, surfing, the ocean, skydiving, good conversation and learning, languages, horseback riding, motorcycles, herbalism/plant medicine, energy healing, cooking, rainstorms, museums...the list is quite endless.

  • animals
  • arts
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • photography
  • tattoos
  • environment
  • motorcycles
  • gardening
  • boating
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cars
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • cycling
  • equestrian
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • skydiving
  • snowboarding
  • wakeboarding
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • geology
  • languages
  • medicine
  • science
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I tend to only watch documentaries and read biographies, ethnographies or nerd out on science books..though someday I plan to venture out to the novel/sci fi world. Favs books are: Anything Wade Davis, The Body Keeps the Score, Braiding Sweetgrass, A Journey Home.

all music. music is so important to me and i could not live without it. My go-to's are hip-hop, folk, rock, and 1920s-1950s jazz/blues. I call my fav genre “sad girl music”, which is basically singer/songwriter. I can do without most electronic (with a few exceptions), but dancing is my medicine of choice. I'm trying to learn the guitar and find confidence in my voice and songwriting.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm obsessed with learning. And I have a lot i can teach, but way more to learn.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I would love to share yoga, massage, reiki and/or guided meditation if you’re interested. I'm super into photography and filmmaking and would love to offer those if you find a want/need for that. I love to teach as much as I love to learn. I work as a facilitator for a therapeutic model called Internal Family Systems and can talk about it all day if you’re interested in talking psychotherapy and neuroscience.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Denmark, El Salvador, England, France, Germany, Guatemala, India, Jamaica, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Puerto Rico, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Virgin Islands, U.S., Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Thailand, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile.

My Groups