Logo orange

Laura Botel

Brooklyn, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 24 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2007
  • Explorer/Innovator
  • Hunter College - NYC
  • From New York, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To explore the adventures that exist outside of my comfort zone

ABOUT ME

I am a 25 year old living in NYC. My life is always in flux and I wouldn't have it any other way. I have lived in over a dozen different places, although mostly in NY and I plan to live abroad at some point in the near future. For now, I am working at a hostel in Brooklyn, but I'm hoping to transition to something new soon!I'll take advantage of any excuse to travel. I am a horrible swimmer and terrified of water but spent two summers (and a total of 5 months) working on a 565 foot ship sailing to ten different countries in Europe. I am always itching to pick up and go explore somewhere new, and I would really like to live on the road for a while and I'm toying with the idea of buying a small school bus this year and turning it into a camper. I majored in psychology but I'm interested in so many different things in life; traveling, music, psychology, movies, science, philosophy, art, writing, the world and people in general.I have a big family; two brothers and two sisters, two nephews, my mom and my stepdad, and my dad. There is NEVER a dull moment and although it can sometimes be stressful, I love it! My friends are AMAZING! My life is full of awesome memories of the experiences I've shared with them. I think that the interactions you have and connections you make with people (from around the world) are the most important thing you can do with life. I was homeschooled for six years before I went to public school. I have an Associate's degree from SUNY Rockland and a BA at Hunter College. But I consider experience outside the classroom my most valuable education. There is so much to learn from places and from people which is why I love the concept of this network and project!All in all, I'm an ever-changing, always learning, travel yearning type of girl. I am usually shy at first, but once I make a connection with someone, a surprisingly extraverted side of me emerges.I can't wait to meet more of the amazing people involved in couchsurfing!

PHILOSOPHY

Being normal is no where near as much fun as being weird :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have met up with some couchsurfers, haven't officially surfed myself; I've hosted many people outside of CS.

Interests

Travel, music, art, writing, philosophy, psychology, thunderstorms, life.

Music, Movies & Books

So much!

Movies: a few of my favorites are Amalie, A Very Long Engagement, Shawshank Redemption, Driving Lessons, Waiting, Stranger than Fiction, Slumdog Millionaire, and more

Music: I listen to huge variety of music and I'm usually open to anything new. A few of the artists currently on my most played list are: Animal Collective, Billy Joel, Arcade Fire, Chopin, Tom Petty, Einstuzende Neubaten, The National, Nine Inch Nails, Benny Goodman, Bobby McFerrin, Journey, The Beatles, Guns & Roses, Collective Soul, Counting Crows, and more.

Books! Here on Earth, Angels and Demons, The Mixed of Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, My Sister's Keeper, The Mummy at The Dining Room Table, The Scarlet Letter, Into the Wild, Walk Across America, so many more that are slipping my mind at the moment.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I lived on a ship for two summers; the sunsets over the Ocean and a starry sky (none of that city light pollution) is overwhelmingly beautiful.

Teach, Learn, Share

I play a few different instruments, I'm always listening to music, and learning and sharing with all others out there.

I love sharing stories and learning about other people's experiences, part of what this project is all about.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, France, Gibraltar, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Malta, Morocco, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile