Logo orange

Laura Clarke

Brooklyn, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 14 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 15 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Costume Designer
  • College and the Costume Shop
  • From Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Whiskey and Handstands.

ABOUT ME

I love creating and exploring. Since I'm an extrovert who spends most days sewing quietly, I like to spend my free time engaging my brain and being active. Yoga, cycling, art, food, theatre, music, conversation. I ran away to China to join the circus for a year, but now I'm back making costumes for Broadway shows and opera singers.

PHILOSOPHY

I would rather be on two wheels than two feet. Or, failing that, upside down. On a more serious note, Taoist and Buddhist philosophy have deeply affected the way I view myself and the world.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Every time I move I look forward to the trail of visiting friends staying at my place, connecting me to everywhere else I've been and want to go. There's no better way to see your own city than by showing it to a guest from out of town. Last year I explored DC and now I am back in Brooklyn.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I found a wonderful housemate on CS 2 years ago and she's now one of closest friends.

My first experience was back in 2007. My friend and I had two empty seats in our rental van in Reno. We picked up two Couch Surfers at the airport and safely delivered to Couch Surfing camp despite a surprise Zombie attack! Oh dear, that turned into a Burning Man story afterall...

Interests

Art, cycling, acroyoga, music, baking, food trucks, late night underground dance parties, making costumes, podcasts, academics, tea, and unexpected adventures.

I ride a seriously knocked about Kona cyclocross, fantastic despite it's heft, and a made-up road bike called a Convexa that I picked up in Zhouhai.

I have two industrial sewing machines in my room, a closet full of sewing supplies and some very amenable flatmates.

Music, Movies & Books

On the train these days I read non-fiction by Bill Bryson and Barbra Kingsolver, esoteric philosophy, and a certain brand of science fiction written by William Gibson, Neal Stephenson, and Terry Pratchett. But aren't all English Majors super particular about what they read willingly?

I managed a radio station in college, now I'm lazy about keeping up with the scene. James Murphy never fails to make me happy. London Calling by The Clash is the best album ever-- I didn't say it's my favorite, nor must it be yours, but recognize that it is the best. I adore indie rock, electro-pop, and electronic music, all the more when they get all mixed up.

My ipod's full of the Decemberists, Mike Doughty, Ratatat, Phoenix, Miike Snow, Passion Pit, Purity Ring, Mimosa, Bassnectar, LCD Soundsystem.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I relocated to Macau, China for a year to work for Cirque du Soleil. The experience informed my perspective on how the world works in countless ways and taught me to be grateful for the friends and opportunities in my life. Can't wait to do it again.

Teach, Learn, Share

I will seriously geek out with you about sewing, teaching yoga, acroyoga, riding bikes, tea, Vietnamese food (Bahn Mi obsessed), dinner parties, Burning Man, growing up in the middle of nowhere, and living in China. I'm needlessly good at patching jeans, I would love to teach every drycleaner how to do this properly.

I am always interested in thai massage, poetry, Buddhist philosophy, circus arts, dim sum, pescatarianism, rhetorical grammar, and photography.

Sometime I'll get around to contact staff, tap dancing, watercolor, cordswaining, Illustrator, languages.

Countries I've Visited

China, Czech Republic, France, Greece, Hungary, Macedonia, Malaysia, Morocco, Netherlands, Serbia, Spain, Taiwan, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

China, Ireland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura 's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile