Laura Petersen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 16 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 36, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Entrepreneur, Teacher, Podcaster
  • Masters in Education, Bachelors in Psychology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

The world is too small and interesting to stay home!

ABOUT ME

I am easy-going, adventurous, love to laugh and have already traveled quite extensively. After studying and living abroad in Germany for a year, I knew I could never just stay in one place the rest of my life. I chose to become a teacher, in part, because of the flexible schedule it allows.

As a guest I am respectful, open-minded and fun-loving. I do not do drugs and do not drink excessively.

There are only two things I really try to avoid as much as possible....cigarette smoke and being really cold! :-)

PHILOSOPHY

Do unto others as you would have done to you.

Whether you think you can or you think you can't, you're always right.

Traveling is the best education possible. And it's fun too.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

HOSTED/MET UP WITH WHILE I TRAVELED

Stuttgart, Germany
Mike C. - dinner and drinks
Etienne - day walking and enjoying the city

Frankfurt, Germany
Franzi T. - surfed for 4 days in Frankfurt...danced all night...met her wonderful family for a delicious bbq (we had met previously in Peru). She stayed with me 2 years later in Arizona.

Stockholm, Sweden
Dilman A. - met for a dinner party...3 days later surfed at his place and went out for tango, a rollercoaster ride and exploring Stockholm
Magnus D. - he invited me over for dinner party, then to stay for 3 days as well...enjoyed great talks, meals, a movie and a group sauna
Simon S. - met for picnic in the park...continued on to free concert, games, dancing, late night dip in the lake
Tobias T. - met through Simon....see above

Copenhagen, Denmark
Alex B. - hung out all week exploring city and salsa dancing (we are old friends from Phoenix)

Casablanca, Morocco
Noury - met up for dessert and a walk along the beach at night

Washington DC, USA
Alex N. - met up for a fun pubcrawl that his roommate organized
Bret F. - offered to give me a tour of the Capitol, but it was closed so we (Bret, his friend, my friend, and I) just toured the outside, took fun pics and laughed a ton at lunch

Mexico City, MX
Cynthia V. - met her in the US, then visited her 4 years later for a week of fun and idea brainstorming in DF

Prague, Czech Republic
Radka (Rachel) Cejkova - we stayed with her and her mom just outside the city and it was an amazing long weekend. She showed us all around where she grew up, cooked healthy vegan food from the garden, and had a blast talking and laughing like we always do. :)

HOSTED/MET UP WITH WHILE I WAS AT HOME

Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Claudia M. - Met up for coffee. That turned into going out dancing, celebrating her birthday, and taking her home with me to Cali for Xmas! My family now thinks of her as a beloved Peruvian cousin. :-) I'll was her maid of honor in her wedding May 2013! We are now life-long friends. xo

Interests

Salsa dancing, music, theatre, new foods, different cultures, international traveling (of course!), other languages, photography, starting businesses

  • photography
  • concerts
  • dancing
  • salsa dancing
  • tango
  • education
  • coffee
  • picnic
  • bbq
  • sauna
  • walking
  • partying
  • traveling
  • podcasts
  • music
  • communications
  • teaching
  • entrepreneurship
  • languages
  • mathematics
  • psychology
  • beaches
  • podcasting

Music, Movies, and Books

Monty Python & the Quest of the Holy Grail

Atlas Shrugged & The Fountainhead

Salsa music, pop in any language, electronic/dance

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Visited Machu Picchu a couple years ago - it was amazing!
Rode camels and slept under the stars in the desert in Morocco.
Zero Gravity flight off the coast of Washington D.C.

Teach, Learn, Share

Can teach: salsa dancing, psychology, math, english grammar/conversation, photoshop, entrepreneurship, social media marketing

What I Can Share with Hosts

Exploring San Diego.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belize, Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Greece, Guatemala, Indonesia, Italy, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Germany, Mexico, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups