Laura Rosellen's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Italian; learning Spanish
  • 23, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Student
  • Psychology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello there,

I'm Laura and basically, I'm on couchsurfing.com because I love travelling and meeting new people. Luckily, I was able to make some great experiences already. For example, I spent several months going to high school in Australia and last year, a dream came true when I moved to study in Padua, Italy.
Italy is one of my favorite places in general. In 2014, I decided travelling it from south to north all by myself - which was quite a challenge at some points. However, it was one of the best decisions I ever made. I especially loved my experience as a workawayer (another one of these great online communities) at a sailing school in the very south of Apulia.
During this trip, I noted how happy travelling makes me, most of all when I get the chance to hang out with locals (despite any language barriers that might await, haha).

Currently, I am tackling a new project. Having finished my bachelor degree in psychology, I decided to do a Gap Year before starting my master. Since one of my favourite things to do is learning new languages, I'll stay in Spain for 6 weeks to study Spanish. After that, I'll do the "reasonable" part of my one year pause by carrying out an internship in Munich.
However, the biggest adventure is yet to come: I would love to travel South America for a couple of months from March, 2017 on. Fingers crossed!! :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I really embrace the idea of sharing and getting into contact with people from all over the world - without expecting anything else in return despite an interaction.
Having made some experience already, I am convinced that couchsurfing provides a mutual benefit for the surfers and the hosts. While you easily get to know new people who might broaden your horizon as a host, as a surfer you don't only get to know that travelling doesn't have to be expensive - you are so close to the people who actually live in the place you want to get to know, and what could be greater than discovering a new place with the background information provided by your host?

Interests

Whenever I find the resources, I try learning new languages. However, I feel the best way to do that is by staying at a place where this language is actually spoken - which makes travelling just necessary, hehe.
I am a social person and spend most of my days with friends: drinking coffee, cooking, playing cards or other games, watching movies and a looot of talking. Plus, I really enjoy to go dancing :)
I also really enjoy running and recently enrolled in a half marathon running team
(although I lacked the discipline to participate in an actual run so far...)
Furthermore, I try to take part in politics in order to change the few things I might be able to. I am also putting forth the effort to live environmentally friendly.

  • cooking
  • politics
  • traveling
  • sports
  • psychology
  • learning languages

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was living in Australia, I went to on an outback tour. We did some outdoor camping and one night, we slept at a fireplace which was literally in the middle of nowhere - in the vector of 150 km around us, there was nothing at all. It was just incredible.

Also, I saw the opera "La Boheme" in the ruins of Pompeji. That was amazing as well.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am thankful for any kind of advice considering local must-dos, must-sees and must-eats. I also appreciate learning something about the history of a place, the political issues it has to deal with and other challenges it faces.

I am happy to teach some German or Italian (which is far from perfect though) anytime! :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I really like to cook and I'd be more than happy to do so for my hosts as well! :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, Italy

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!