Laura Zachary's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish, Swahili
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Environmental Analyst
  • International Relations and Environmental Policy
  • From San Antonio, Texas
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

My response rate is so low because I was living in rural Guatemala for the past few years and did not have constant access to internet. After this trip I will be back in the States and am excited to host fellow Couch Surfers!

ABOUT ME

I am a liberal who was born and raised in Texas, so I can get a long well with most people. :-) I love political cartoons. I tried to make a list of 101 things to do in the next 1,001 days...made it to 99 and then lost the list. I enjoy learning new languages and meeting new people. My main focus in school was on East and Central Africa. I studied in 2008 in Kampala, Uganda. I also studied in Kigali, Rwanda and in Tanzania.

PHILOSOPHY

"If we have not achieved our early dreams, we must either find new ones or see what we can salvage from the old. There is clearly much left to be done, and whatever else we are going to do, we had better get on with it." -Rosalynn Carter

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

After my New Zealand and Australia trip I will be back in the US and in a place where I can offer up a spare bed/couch again to fellow Couch Surfers.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

After college I traveled around Europe for 2-1/2 months with my best friend. We stayed with Couch Surfers from Turkey and Croatia to Hungary, Austria, Spain, and France! We had an amazing experience with all of our hosts!

Interests

Hiking, traveling (after this trip I will be up to 30 countries and 6 continents visited), meeting new people, card games, cooking, and amateur photography.

  • photography
  • cooking
  • cartoons
  • traveling
  • music
  • guitar
  • piano
  • hiking
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite Movies: Mrs. Doubtfire, Ferris Bueler's Day Off, Little Miss Sunshine, The Lives of Others.
Favorite T.V. Show: The West Wing.
Favorite Books: Of One Blood, The Count of Monte Cristo, Les Miserables

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiked part of Kilimanjaro and white water rafted down the Nile. Sapa in Vietnam was probably the most beautiful place I have ever visited.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love music, but have little talent. I want to learn how to play the piano and guitar more.

I love learning new languages. At least greetings and thanks everywhere I go.

Countries I’ve Visited

Guatemala

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!