Logo orange

Laurel Billings

Brooklyn, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laurel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 31 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Latin, Norwegian
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • English Teacher
  • Reading, writing, traveling, etc.
  • From Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Good question...

ABOUT ME

Oh geeze, it's hard to describe myself. Here are some facts, in no particular order: I like cats and two- and three-toed sloths. I like reading but don't do it that often. I like coffee and do that all the time. My favorite color is green. I like coffee and do that all the time. I can be very talkative, though I'm sometimes quiet at first. I am looking for a purpose in life, so let me know if you have any suggestions. At the moment, I am in Vietnam hanging out and being an English teacher. In July 2011, I'll move to Tuscaloosa, AL to be a grad student.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

In addition to attending events and meeting up for coffee, drinks, and activities with lots of awesome couchsurfers, I have also had a few real surfing and hosting experiences:

Hosted: Elizabeth from Chicago David, Alex, Bob, and Frank form Ann Arbor Jennifer from Atlanta I'm hoping to host many more people when I have space and a couch!

Surfed: John and Mark in DC Christian in Berkeley Amy in Pittsburgh

I can't wait to add to these lists.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted hosted, surfed, and met up with couchsurfers individually and in groups. I've greatly enjoyed all my experiences so far!

Interests

books, art, music, food of nearly every kind, wine, trying to learn languages, libraries, ballet, yoga, modern dance, movies, poetry, animals, history, hiking, coffee, architecture, two- and three-toed sloths.

Music, Movies & Books

Books: The Sun Also Rises, On The Road, To Kill A Mockingbird, Homage to Catalonia, One Hundred Years of Solitude, Leaves of Grass, Moby Dick, Huckleberry Finn, Middlesex, Lolita, Heart of Darkness, Lord Jim, Divisadero, Crossing To Safety, Lady Chatterley's Lover, A Passage to India

Movies: Angels in America, The Unbearable Lightness of Being, Persepolis, Amelie, Closer, Breathless, Lady Vengeance, Vertigo, LA Story, O Brother, Where Art Thou?

I should watch more movies, though.

Music: Classic rock, and many other things.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Learned to drive a motorbike in Ho Chi Minh City. And survived to tell about it--as of the time of this posting, anyway.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'll teach you what ever I know. You just teach me about yourself or the things you like.

Countries I've Visited

Brazil, Ireland, Italy, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I've Lived In

France, Norway, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Laurel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile