Lauren Thomas's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Learning Danish, Russian, Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Exploration Geologist
  • Bachelor Degree Science
  • From Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a 26 year old adventurer. My first loves are exploring, adventure and people. I believe that you never really experience a place until you walk it's back streets and meet it's people. I live away for my job (which makes it hard for me to host surfers), I spend 11 out of 21 days in the West Australian outback searching for iron ore - it's a bit like being Indiana Jones but much less exciting.
When I'm not at work I divide my time between outdoor activities, socialising with friends and travelling. I really enjoy meeting new people and swapping stories. I recently drove a nissan micra from England to Mongolia as part of the Mongol Rally, so I have plenty of stories.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe you can not experience a culture until you meet it's people and explore it's back streets. I tend to avoid the tourist traps, being around large groups of tourists drives me nuts, I prefer the quiet out of the way places.
I'm really interested in meeting local people while I'm travelling and it's hard to do this when staying in a backpackers.

Interests

  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • history
  • urban exploration
  • exploring
  • meeting new people

Music, Movies, and Books

I will happily listen to all music, but I absolutely love the Beatles, and anything from the 80's.
If I don't count anything Disney my favourite movie of all time is Shawshank Redemption.
Books, well that's just way too hard, I am a book worm, I devour almost any genre.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The Mongol is probably the most amazing thing I've done to date; I drove a nissan micra with a team of 3(ish - long story) from London to Mongolia (18,500km) across 19 countries in 50 days. I then drove the car back to Munich (10,000km) by myself in 19 days across 3 countries.
Along the way I met amazing people, drove through amazing scenery, camped in beautiful (and horrible) conditions, and bathed in freezing lakes and rivers.
My favourite part of the rally was driving the Pamir Highway through Tajikistan. A convoy of 9 cars drove the southern route bordering Afghanistan. At times we had to push cars up the mountain passes, the highest point we reached was 4600m.

Teach, Learn, Share

I always considered becoming a teacher, as I love to help people improve themselves. I'm actually a member of the Scouting Association and I used to take teenagers away hiking and camping . One of the greatest joys I had was seeing the kids be proud of their achievements.
I love to learn, I have a very inquisitive nature, and like to ask questions.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am very friendly and talkative person. I love to swap stories. I'm also a very helpful and considerate guest, I tend to make myself at home.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Indonesia, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Mongolia, New Zealand, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Scotland, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile. It’s free!