Lauren S's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile.

Overview

  • 25 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Sign Language - American
  • 26, Female
  • Member since 2023
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am an American woman attempting to hitchhike around the world! I love meeting local people, going with the flow, and seeing anything you want to show me. Exploring the unknown is so fun!

My next stop on this world tour will be Perth, Australia! I need to top up my bank account, so I’ll be working on a WHV. If you have any advice regarding working in Australia, please share! I also want to learn to sail and ride a motorcycle there ⛵️ 🏍️

My dream job in Perth is FIFO mining. I’m planning to get a white card and maybe a forklift certification too. If you have any advice or contacts in the industry, I would really appreciate it and do my best to pay it back or pay it forward. ⛏️🦺

More about me:

One of my biggest goals in life is to advance the disabled community ♿️🦻🧏🤟I have a hearing disability and it means the world to me to meet disabled people while traveling. I want to learn more about what being disabled is like in different countries. One of the most interesting parts of my trip thus far has been staying with a Deaf family in Malaysia.

Another thing you should know about me is that I’m sober! 🚭I enjoy experiencing local nightlife, but I also like to sleep at a reasonable time. I certainly love to dance, though, so please invite me to a local show! 💃

Also, I adore postcards - if you know where to find them in your town, please tell me and I will love you forever. I can also send you one :) 💌

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I’m couch surfing to make new friends, hitchhike around the world, experience new cultures, learn about disabilities internationally, and learn practical information to help my adventure 🇯🇵 🇹🇼 🇭🇰 🇵🇭 🇲🇾 🇧🇳 🇮🇩 🇸🇬 🇹🇭 🇱🇦 🇦🇺

My favorite element of travel is learning about different cultures and perspectives. I strongly believe that you learn the most by listening to others. I feel privileged and lucky whenever I am able to learn about a new way of life, religious beliefs, history, etc. I would truly love to hear your family’s stories and about anything that is important to you.

I am especially inspired when I learn about underrepresented people. It wasn’t until I was 21 years old that one of my university professors told me about the US disability rights movement. I couldn’t believe I hadn’t been more curious about it and that it wasn’t taught in my U.S. history course. It’s been humbling and life changing to understand what the disabled people before me have done so that I can live the life I do.

Interests

  • writing
  • street art
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • hitchhiking
  • freediving
  • children
  • postcards
  • climate change
  • rooftops
  • physiology
  • trying new foods
  • exotic animals

Music, Movies, and Books

I’m not big on movies but I love music, especially TAYLOR SWIFT 💚💛💜❤️🩵🖤🩷🩶🤎💙🤍. I also enjoy seeing local EDM music.

Some of my favorite books are Harry Potter, Into the Wild, and The Alchemist.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Walked on the roof of Lotte Tower 🇰🇷

Teach, Learn, Share

A few things I enjoy:
- succulents and cacti 🌵
- self-development 🧠
- snowboarding 🏂
- American Sign Language 🤟🏻
- American English 🇺🇸
- disability culture ♿️
- physiology 🩺
- biomedical research 🔬
- travel ✈️
- Colorado 🏔️
- hitchhiking 🥾
- free diving 🤿
- kayaking 🛶

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach you American Sign Language or just do the dishes 😅 I also love a good conversation, hiking and other outdoor activities, and volunteering.

I am not good at cooking, but I’d love to watch, help, and learn from you :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Aruba, Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Costa Rica, England, France, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lauren’s full profile.